SOURCE: Women in Poker Hall of Fame

Women in Poker Hall of Fame Official Website

April 16, 2010 17:14 ET

Nominations Now Open for the 2010 Women in Poker Hall of Fame Inductions

For the First Time, Nominations for Qualified Candidates Are Open to the Public; Everyone Is Encouraged to Submit a Nomination of a Women Poker Professional or Industry Leader for Consideration to the 2010 Ballot

LAS VEGAS, NV--(Marketwire - April 16, 2010) -  The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) board announced a change in the selection process for induction to the 2010 Women in Poker Hall of Fame, taking place Labor Day weekend in September of 2010. In previous years, nominations were closed to members only. This year, anyone can nominate a qualified candidate for consideration.

"The nomination process is important and we feel there are women out there who are eligible and deserving," said board member Karina Jett. "We're inviting the public to help us assemble worthy candidates for this year's ballot."

Eligible candidates for Induction must meet the following requirements:

  1. A candidate must have been active as a player or industry leader for a minimum of 15 years prior to election. (January 1994 to present.)
  2. Player/industry leader must have contributed to the world of poker in some significant way. This person can qualify by either winning major poker tournaments, or by making significant contributions to the industry of poker.
  3. Player/industry leader must be a proponent of women's poker. Even if she does not play in women's events, she must support them.

In addition to the nomination process, voting will also be open to the public and will count towards 50% of the results. The other 50% will be made up of current inductees and board member votes. Voting by the public will be open on May 16th at the WiPHoF website.

Three candidates may be included in each person's vote. To submit a nomination, please visit or

About the Women in Poker Hall of Fame

The prestigious Women in Poker Hall of Fame, founded in 2008 by the Ladies International Poker Series, is designed to honor women in poker who have acquired prominence and have made contributions to the poker world. Current inductees include phenomenal women such as, 2008 Inductees Marsha Waggoner, Linda Johnson, Susie Isaacs and Barbara Enright. In 2009, June Field, Jan Fisher and Cyndy Violette joined the ranks as well. Board Members include Susan Carter, Maureen Feduniak, Karina Jett, Lupe Soto, Suzie Lederer and Gyla Whitlow.

Contact Information