SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

October 16, 2006 09:00 ET

"OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" to Be Released December 5

Songs Featured on "The OC" Covered by Bands Spotlighted Throughout the Series Will Make Up Sixth Compilation Soundtrack to Hit FOX Series

BURBANK, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- October 16, 2006 -- On each episode of "The OC," the popular FOX dramedy about the lives and loves of teens in California's affluent Orange County community, viewers are exposed to emerging indie-rock and pop artists via a vibrant soundtrack punctuating key scenes. In a departure from the five previous "Music From the OC Mix" compilations, the newest one, "OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" will feature "bands who are important to the show covering songs that are important to the show," says the album's music supervisor Alexandra Patsavas. The 12-song "OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" will be released by Warner Bros. Records on December 5th.

Each previous "OC" Mix collection has featured at least one cover recorded especially for the show, such as Youth Group's revision of Alphaville's "Forever Young" on Mix 5 and matt pond PA's version of Oasis' "Champagne Supernova" on Mix 4. Like those memorable renditions, each track on "OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" has been recorded specifically for "OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" and will be exclusive to the CD. The tracks will be heard throughout Season Four of "The OC," which premieres on November 2nd on FOX.

"We've had such a great time creating covers for all the mixes that we decided to do an entire album of them, focusing on what we knew was going to happen in the new season," Patsavas says. "The bands were really interested in the challenge of covering another band's song and making it their own."

Some highlights of the soundtrack include British grime MC Lady Sovereign's electro version of The Sex Pistol's "Pretty Vacant"; L.A. pop-rock quintet Goldspot's infectious take on "Float On" by Modest Mouse; L.A. alt-rockers Rock Kills Kid's epic rendition of Spoon's "Turn My Camera On"; and co-ed indie rock duo Mates of States' harmonious interpretation of the show's omnipresent theme song "California" by Phantom Planet.

"We love Spoon, so when we were asked to cover 'Turn My Camera On,' we jumped at the idea," says Jeff Tucker of Rock Kills Kid, who appeared at the show's Bait Shop nightclub in Season Three. "We only hope that we did it justice!"

The full track-listing for "OC MIX 6: COVERING OUR TRACKS" is as follows:

ARTIST            SONG                          ORIGINAL ARTIST
Goldspot         "Float On"                     Modest Mouse
Rock Kills Kid   "I Turn My Camera On"          Spoon
Lady Sovereign   "Pretty Vacant"                The Sex Pistols
Mates of State   "California"                   Phantom Planet
Pinback          "Wasted"                       Black Flag
John Paul White  "Can't Get It Out Of My Head"  ELO
Rogue Wave       "Debaser"                      Pixies
Syd Matters      "Hello Sunshine"               Super Furry Animals
Tally Hall       "Smile Like You Mean It"       The Killers
The M's          "Come Into My Room"            Clinic
Band of Horses   "End's Not Near"               The New Year
Chris Holmes     "Into Dust"                    Mazzy Star

Contact Information

  • For further information, please contact:
    Keren Poznansky
    Warner Bros. Records Publicity