SOURCE: OR-Live, Inc.

November 29, 2007 16:55 ET

ORLive Presents: Surgical Advances in Axillary and Sentinel Lymph Node Dissection

Live Webcast: From University of California, San Diego Moores Cancer Center: Tuesday, December 4, 2007 4:00 pm PST / 5:00 pm MST / 6:00 pm CST / 7:00 pm EST

LA JOLLA, CA--(Marketwire - November 29, 2007) - On December 4, 2007, at 4:00 pm PST, join surgeons Anne Marie Wallace, MD, FACS, and Karen Kay Darricau, MD, FACS, in a live hour-long Internet presentation of techniques using Harmonic® energy technology for axillary and sentinel lymph node dissections during a sentinel node biopsy.

The presenting surgeons will feature the technique of sentinel node biopsy, which is a common procedure for many different solid tumors. The webcast will demonstrate making an incision in the axillary crease, using the neo2000® Gamma Detection System to guide surgery toward the hot lymph node, and using the Harmonic FOCUS™ 9cm Curved Shears for dissection and hemostasis of axillary tissue. Following the dissection, the lymph node or nodes are immediately evaluated by pathology using frozen section analysis.

The December 4th live Internet broadcast will originate from the Moores Cancer UCSD Center in La Jolla, CA. During the program, viewers may email questions directly to Drs. Wallace and Darricau, providing a dynamic clinical interchange between the audience and presenters.

Presenters:

Anne Marie Wallace, MD, FACS
Director, Breast Care Unit
Moores Cancer Center
University of California, San Diego
San Diego Medical Center, La Jolla, CA

Karen Kay Darricau, MD, FACS
General Surgeon
The Medical Center of Aurora
The Breast Cancer Care Center, Aurora, CO

This presentation may include demonstration of the use of surgical devices; it is not intended to be used as a surgical training guide. Other surgeons may employ different techniques. Individual surgeon preference and experience, as well as patient needs, should always dictate variation in procedure steps. Before using any medical device, including those demonstrated or referenced in this presentation, review all relevant package inserts, with particular attention to the indications, contraindications, warnings and precautions, and steps for use of the device.

This presentation is the work of the author and may not necessarily reflect the views of Ethicon Endo-Surgery, Inc.

DSL#07-1485.PR ©2007

Visit: http://www.or-live.com/EthiconEndo-Surgery/1881 to learn more about this breast cancer treatment and view a program preview.

VNR: http://www.or-live.com/rams/ens-1881-mkw-q.ram

Contact Information

  • Contact:

    Alex Fraser
    Director of Marketing
    OR-Live, Inc.
    860-953-2900 x 214
    Email Contact