OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

January 19, 2010 12:22 ET

OSSTF/FEESO Congratulates Ontario's New Minister of Education

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 19, 2010) - The Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) congratulates the Honourable Leona Dombrowsky on being appointed Ontario's new Minister of Education.

OSSTF/FEESO is a trade union that represents 60,000 members across the province of Ontario. The union works to protect our diverse membership that is represented in 140 bargaining units across the province. OSSTF/FEESO bargaining units represent both English and French members in elementary and secondary school workplaces, private schools, consortia offering support services to school boards, and universities.

"We look forward to working with our new Minister of Education on all education issues," says Ken Coran, president of OSSTF/FEESO, "including the implementation of the Early Learning Plan," he added.

"We know that her experience as both a School Board Chair and Director of the Ontario Catholic Trustee Association will be an asset in her new role," says Coran. "Through consultations with the previous Minister, it was clear that Kathleen Wynne's experience as a school board trustee gave her an excellent understanding of our education system and I am sure that the same will be true of Honourable Dombrowsky. We wish her the best in her new role," he concluded.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, attendance counsellors, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    Ken Coran
    416.751.8300 or 1.800.267.7867