OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

November 27, 2008 17:07 ET

OSSTF Support Staff in Thunder Bay Catholic Board Ratify Settlement

THUNDER BAY, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 27, 2008) - Members of the Student Services Personnel and Professional Student Services Personnel (SSP/PSSP) bargaining unit of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), District 6A ratified an agreement with the Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board (TBCDSB) on November 25, 2008. The agreement will be in effect from September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2012.

Maureen Denford-Cox, President of the local SSP/PSSP bargaining unit commented, "Both sides worked hard to get this agreement. Our efforts have paid off and both our members and the board have shown their support for the results. We are particularly pleased that the increase in hours for educational assistants that comes into effect in February will mean increased services for at-risk and special education students in the TBCDSB.

"Our success in achieving this agreement with the TBCDSB demonstrates that local collective bargaining continues to be an appropriate process for reaching a good outcome for both parties," added Sandra Sahli, provincial Executive Officer of OSSTF/FEESO and Chair of the District 6A negotiating teams. "We hope the same type of collaborative approach and respect will result in a settlement between the Lakehead District School Board and their educational assistants when we return to the bargaining table on Monday. Reaching settlements for support staff for both separate and public boards would be a nice start to the holiday season for our members and for Thunder Bay students and families."

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, attendance counsellors, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    Sandra Sahli
    Executive Officer
    (416) 751-8300 or 1-800-267-7867