Ottawa Senators Hockey Club

Ottawa Senators Hockey Club

September 04, 2009 09:54 ET

Ottawa Senators Invite 21 Players to Rookie Tournament

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 4, 2009) - The Ottawa Senators announced today the 21 players invited to take part in a four-team round-robin tournament from Sept. 7 to Sept. 10 at the Kitchener Memorial Auditorium in Kitchener, Ont. Joining the Senators prospects are squads from the Boston Bruins, Pittsburgh Penguins and hosts Toronto Maple Leafs.

The Senators rookies will be led by newly appointed Binghamton Senators head coach Don Nachbaur and assistant Mike Busniuk. Ottawa's hockey staff will also be in Kitchener for the tournament.

The squad is made up of two goaltenders, seven defencemen and 12 forwards (complete roster below). Eight players were drafted by the Senators, two were signed as free agents and 11 are participating under amateur or professional tryouts.

Ten of the invited players saw minor-pro action last season. Forwards Peter Regin and Zack Smith played their first NHL games with the Senators during the 2008-09 campaign, while defenceman Geoff Kinrade made his debut with the Tampa Bay Lightning. Also participating are Ottawa first-round picks Jim O'Brien (2007) and Erik Karlsson (2008).

The Senators rookies will have two open practices at the Bell Sensplex before leaving for the tournament. Following medicals and fitness testing on the morning of Saturday, Sept. 5, the team will be on the ice at 2 p.m. They will also practise at 9 a.m. on Sunday, Sept. 6, before leaving for Kitchener, Ont.

The Ottawa Senators roster is as follows (2008-09 team). Access the Senators rookie squad guide (PDF format) at the club's website (

Goaltenders: Shane Connelly (Wisconsin - WCHA), Robin Lehner (Frolunda Jr. - Sweden)

Defencemen: Paul Baier (Portland - AHL), Collin Bowman (Kelowna - WHL), Erik Karlsson (Frolunda HC, Boras HC - Sweden), Geoff Kinrade (Michigan Tech - WCHA, Norfolk - AHL, Tampa Bay - NHL), Mat Robinson (Las Vegas - ECHL, Alaska-Anchorage - WCHA), Craig Schira (Vancouver - WHL), Kyle Wharton (Johnstown - ECHL, Syracuse - AHL)

Forwards: Erik Condra (Notre Dame - CCHA), Keegan Dansereau (Swift Current - WHL), Kaspars Daugavins (Binghamton - AHL, Mississauga - OHL), Jordan Hale (Brandon - WHL), Michael Hoffman (Drummondville - QMJHL), Casey Lee (U. of Saskatchewan - CWUAA), Matt Lowry (Brandon - WHL), Jim O'Brien (Seattle - WHL, Binghamton - AHL), Brett Parnham (Oshawa - OHL, Rochester - AHL), Peter Regin (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Zack Smith (Binghamton - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Brandon Svendsen (Idaho - ECHL, Bowling Green - CCHA)

2009 rookie tournament schedule at the Kitchener Memorial Auditorium

Monday, Sept. 7: Toronto vs. Boston at 2 p.m.; Ottawa vs. Pittsburgh at 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 9: Ottawa vs. Boston at 2 p.m.; Toronto vs. Pittsburgh at 7 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 10: Boston vs. Pittsburgh at 2 p.m.; Toronto vs. Ottawa at 7 p.m.

The Senators have participated in nine rookie tournaments since their first appearance in 1999. Last season, Ottawa finished the round-robin with two wins and one loss, tied for first with the Penguins.

Since the first tournament in 1999, past rookie team rosters have included the following members of the organization who have played for the Senators: Cody Bass (2005 and 2007), Brian Elliott (2007), Mike Fisher (1999 and 2001), Nick Foligno (2007), Chris Kelly (1999, 2000 and 2001), Brian Lee (2007), Chris Neil (1999), Peter Regin (2008), Christoph Schubert (2002 and 2003), Jason Spezza (2001 and 2002), Zack Smith (2008), Anton Volchenkov (2002) and Ilya Zubov (2007).

Contact Information