Public Prosecution Service of Canada

Public Prosecution Service of Canada

October 19, 2007 08:00 ET

PPSC: Ministers of Justice Award Top Prosecutors

BANFF, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Oct. 19, 2007) - Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, the Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., M.P. for Niagara Falls and the Honourable Ron Stevens, Deputy Premier and Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Alberta, Q.C., today recognized the outstanding accomplishments of three prosecutors, who were honoured at the Federal-Provincial-Territorial (FPT) Heads of Prosecutions Committee awards ceremony in Banff held October 18, 2007.

"While playing a key role in the protection of our communities and the defence of the Law, prosecutors all too often work in a thankless and sometimes dangerous environment. I am pleased that we are able to honour their dedication and achievements," said Minister Nicholson. "They are leaders, mentors and role models and they deserve our thanks as well as the recognition for a job well done."

The national FPT Heads of Prosecutions Committee instituted an award program last year to honour professional excellence, exemplary service and outstanding achievements.

"These prosecutors represent tangible examples, in our courtrooms and in our communities, of the principles of commitment, service, duty and excellence," said Minister Stevens. "These awards recognize their accomplishments and reflect the esteem in which they are held by their peers."

The following prosecutors were recognized for their contributions to advancing and promoting prosecutions within the Canadian criminal justice system:

- Mr. Ronald J. MacDonald, Q.C., Senior Crown Counsel with the Crown Attorney's Office in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, was awarded the 2007 Humanitarian Award, which recognizes professional excellence and exemplary service, both in the workplace and the community. In addition to excellence as a prosecutor and legal educator, Mr. MacDonald's varied volunteer work sets him apart as someone singularly dedicated to service.

- Mr. Gary McCuaig, Q.C. , Education and Knowledge Management Coordinator with the Alberta Department of Justice, was awarded the 2007 Commitment to Justice Award. Throughout Mr. McCuaig's distinguished career as a prosecutor, he prosecuted serious and high-profile cases while serving as mentor to young prosecutors. He worked tirelessly to fight organized crime and bring war crime offenders to Justice, under difficult circumstances and threats to his personal safety.

- Ms. K. Jean Connor, Q.C., Administrative Crown Counsel with the Criminal Justice Branch of the British Columbia Ministry of the Attorney General, was awarded the Courage and Perseverance Award 2007 for outstanding dedication, perseverance and courage in the course of her work. Over her 30-year career, Ms. Connor earned a sterling reputation as a leading Crown counsel who took on difficult, high-profile cases, acted as leader and mentor, and helped establish the careers of other young prosecutors and accomplished this while facing serious illness.

For more information about the award, the winners and nominees, please visit:

Version francaise disponible

Contact Information

  • Minister's Office
    Genevieve Breton
    Director of Communications
    Public Prosecution Service of Canada
    Media Relations