November 03, 2009 12:22 ET

PrePass Expansion Continues: Michigan Becomes 29th State

Michigan Sites Will Come Online Before New Year; New Services Launch November 5

PHOENIX, AZ--(Marketwire - November 3, 2009) - Michigan has authorized the deployment of PrePass® weigh station technology at its northbound Monroe facility on I-75 near the Ohio border and at the eastbound New Buffalo port of entry on I-94 near the Indiana border. The PrePass core service enables qualified trucks to comply electronically with state safety, registration and weight requirements at highway speeds using a small in-cab transponder.

PrePass, by eliminating weigh station stops and idling in queues, saves time, money and fuel. At the same time, the public benefits from improved highway safety and reduced greenhouse gases. According to Capt. Robert Powers, commander of the Michigan State Police Traffic Safety Division, "With PrePass, Michigan inspectors will be able to focus on those trucks most likely to be deficient in their compliance with credential, weight and safety regulations."

"We're excited about the expansion of PrePass into Michigan and the added value it provides our participating companies," said Richard P. Landis, president and CEO of HELP Inc., the public-private partnership that offers the weigh station service.

Beginning in November, PrePass will unveil an expanded suite of services that helps truckers manage fleets, control costs and improve highway safety. To be among the first to preview the new services, sign up at

Follow us on twitter! @prepass

About PrePass

Nearly 415,000 trucks have enrolled in the PrePass weigh station service nationwide. PrePass and its electronic toll collection companion service are operational at weigh stations and/or toll plazas in 36 states, including: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. PrePass enables states to meet Federal CVISN requirements.

Contact Information