SOURCE: Weissman/Markovitz Communications

Weissman/Markovitz Communications

November 22, 2010 20:41 ET

Production Designer/Costume Designer Patricia Norris to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award From Art Directors Guild

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - November 22, 2010) - Academy Award®-winning Production Designer and Costume Designer Patricia Norris will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Art Directors Guild's 15th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards on February 5, 2011, it was announced today by Thomas A. Walsh, ADG Council President, and Awards co-producers Dawn Snyder and Tom Wilkins. The award will be presented at a black-tie industry gathering at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Norris began her career in the film industry as a stock girl in the wardrobe department at MGM Studios and worked her way up to become one of the industry's most respected craft persons. In announcing this honor, ADG President Walsh said, "Patricia is one of only a very few American designers who have been able to successfully combine the dual practices of production and costume design for film and television." She holds dual production and costume design credits for works such as Amos & Andrew (1993), The Journey of August King (1995), The Hi-Lo Country (1998), Delivering Milo (2001), The Assassination of Jesse James (2007) and The Singing Detective (2003).

With more than two decades of collaboration with director David Lynch, Norris has worked on such Lynch classics as Wild at Heart (1990), Lost Highway (1997) and the pilot for Twin Peaks (1990) that won her an Emmy® for Outstanding Art Direction. Nominated five times for an Academy Award® for her costume design in films that include Sunset (1988), The Elephant Man (1980) and Days of Heaven (1978), Norris will be the second woman to be awarded ADG's Lifetime Achievement Award (Jan Scott was the first in 2001). Walsh further noted, "By celebrating Patricia's life and career the Guild reaffirms the hopes of every young designer regardless of their background or gender, encouraging them to pursue their dreams and overcome the status quo in the pursuit of their creative aspirations."

Previous recipients of ADG Lifetime Achievement Awards are Production Designers Ken Adam, Robert Boyle, Albert Brenner, Henry Bumstead, Roy Christopher, Stuart Craig, Bill Creber, John Mansbridge, Terence Marsh, Harold Michelson, Jan Scott, Paul Sylbert and Dean Tavoularis.

Nominations for the ADG Awards will be announced on January 5, 2011. On awards night, February 5, the ADG will present winners in nine competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions and commercials, along with the Guild's award for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery (recipient to be announced) and three Hall of Fame inductees, Alexander Golitizen, Albert Heschong and Eugène Lourié. For the second consecutive year, Paula Poundstone is set to host the show, which is themed, "Design on Film." Sponsors for this year's awards include Swarovski and Variety.

About the Art Directors Guild:
The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents nearly 2,000 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, and Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers. Established in 1937, ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society; an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design) and Membership Directory; a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, creative workshops and craft and art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at

Follow ADG on Twitter:

NOTE TO MEDIA: A photo image of Patricia Norris is available electronically by contacting Nicole Bamber at

Contact Information

    Weissman/Markovitz Communications
    Lindajo Loftus
    Cheri Warner
    Tel: 818.760.8995
    Fax: 818.760.4847
    Email Contact
    Email Contact