SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

August 29, 2006 18:49 ET

Release Date for Robert Randolph & The Family Band's New Album -- "Colorblind" -- Moved to October 10th

Eagerly Anticipated Follow-up to 2003's Grammy-Nominated "Unclassified" Showcases Pedal Steel Guitarist's Dazzling Musicianship and Songwriting Skills

BURBANK, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- August 29, 2006 -- The release date for "Colorblind," the second studio album from Robert Randolph & The Family Band led by the critically heralded pedal steel guitarist Robert Randolph, has been moved to October 10th.

"Colorblind," the follow-up to Randolph's 2003 Grammy-nominated debut on Warner Bros. Records, "Unclassified," is a potent mix of rock, R&B, country, blues, and gospel that Randolph says was inspired by repeated listenings of albums by Sly Stone, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, and Stevie Wonder. It ranges from the infectious funk-stomp of "Ain't Nothin' Wrong With That" to a blistering version of the Byrds' "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me" (featuring Randolph's friend and mentor Eric Clapton) to such timeless ballads as "Stronger," a duet with Leela James that was written with Steve McEwan (Faith Hill, Kenny Chesney). The New Jersey native collaborated with several other noted songwriters and studio vets, including Mark Batson (Dave Matthews Band, Gwen Stefani), Drew & Shannon (India.Arie, Johnny Lang), Jeff Trott (Sheryl Crow), and top gospel producer/songwriter Tommy Sims (Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton).

"Known as one of the most talented pedal steel players in rock history," observes the Associated Press, and notorious for his jubilant, roof-raising live shows, Randolph has now made the leap from being a great performing artist to being a great recording artist on "Colorblind." "We're fortunate to be good musicians," he says, "and we were able to channel into that foundation during the collaboration process, and grow as songwriters."

Robert Randolph & The Family Band, which includes Randolph's cousins Danyel Morgan on bass and Marcus Randolph on drums, as well as keyboard player Jason Crosby, is currently on tour in the U.S. with Dave Matthews Band for several shows, including stops in California, Utah, Colorado, and the two final sold-out shows of the tour in Charlottesville, Virginia. The band is also confirmed to perform at the Aspen Jazz Festival with Kanye West on September 2nd.

The full track listing for "Colorblind" is as follows:
1.  "Ain't Nothin' Wrong With That"
2.  "Deliver Me"
3.  "Diane"
4.  "Angels"
5.  "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me" featuring Eric Clapton
6.  "Stronger" featuring Leela James
7.  "Thrill of It"
8.  "Blessed"
9.  "Love Is The Only Way" featuring Dave Matthews and LeRoi Moore
10. "Thankful N' Thoughtful"
11. "Homecoming"

Contact Information