CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

CPRS Canadian Public Relations Society

January 19, 2010 17:13 ET

Robert Deluce, President and Chief Executive Officer of Porter Airlines, Receives CPRS CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 19, 2010) -

Editors Note: There is a photo included with this Press Release.

The CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations was awarded today to Robert Deluce, President and CEO of Porter Airlines, by the Canadian Public Relations Society Toronto at an elegant gala luncheon at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in front of an audience of more than 200 people.

The CPRS CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations was created in 1991 to celebrate the Chief Executive Officer in the Greater Toronto Area who best demonstrates personal excellence in the understanding and implementation of public relations practices.

"Since launching service in late 2006, Porter Airlines has proven to be one of the great Canadian success stories, in large part due to the communications expertise of their leader, Robert Deluce," says CEO Award Chair Lawrence Stevenson, APR. "Mr. Deluce has clearly exhibited excellence in the key strategic communications areas that we evaluate when selecting our recipients each year – from creating and delivering on a vision for the company to effective and ethical communications with various stakeholders, to mention a few."

"I am humbled to receive this award and am grateful to the public relations community for this honour and recognition," says Robert Deluce, President and CEO, Porter Airlines. "Effective communication with all of our company's audiences is something that our team has always valued, and is an important component in helping people understand and engage with Porter's vision of creating a new dignified flying experience."

Past recipients of the CPRS CEO Award of Excellence include:

  • Galen G. Weston, Executive Chairman, Loblaw Companies Limited (2008-2009)
  • Frances Lankin, President and CEO, United Way of Greater Toronto (2007-2008)
  • The late Richard Bradshaw, General Director of the Canadian Opera Company (2006-2007)
  • Michael Budman and Don Green, co-founders of Roots Canada (2005-2006)
  • Wayne Sales, President and CEO of Canadian Tire (2004-2005)
  • Piers Handling, CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival (2003-2004)
  • Julian Fantino, Chief of the Toronto Police Force (2002-2003)
  • Charles Baillie, Chair, TD Bank Financial Group (2001-2002)
  • Dominic D'Alessandro, President and CEO, Manulife Financial (2000-2001)
  • Bobbie Gaunt, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company of Canada (1999-2000)
  • Diane McGarry, President and CEO, Xerox Canada Inc. (1998-1999)
  • Allan Stark, President and CEO, American Express Company Canada (1997-1998)
  • George Cohon, President and CEO, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada (1996-1997)
  • John Cassaday, President and CEO, CTV (1995-1996)
  • David Bloom, President and CEO, Shoppers Drug Mart (1992-1993)
  • Peter H. Ellis, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Medical Centre (1991-1992)

The CPRS (Toronto) award is determined by a selection committee comprised of the society's past presidents, all Accredited Public Relations practitioners, as well as some national past presidents. Members are encouraged to submit nominations.

CPRS is a national organization representing the public relations profession through the establishment and maintenance of high professional, educational and ethical standards. CPRS Toronto is one of the largest member societies comprising more than 600 members. For more information, please visit www.cprstoronto.com.

The CPRS Toronto CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations is generously sponsored by Marketwire, one of Canada's foremost news distribution and communications services companies.

To view the photo included with this release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20100119-CEO800.jpg

Contact Information

  • For more information or to schedule an interview, please
    contact: Canadian Public Relations Society
    Ani Chakmakian, Media Relations Lead, CEO Award Committee
    416-977-9208 / 780-868-8068
    Canadian Public Relations Society
    Lawrence Stevenson, APR
    Chair, CEO Award Committee