SOURCE: Smith & Nephew PLC

September 21, 2006 10:54 ET

Smith & Nephew PLC announces Notice of Results

London, UK -- (MARKET WIRE) -- September 21, 2006 --

Timing of Smith & Nephew Third Quarter Results

21 September 2006

Smith & Nephew plc will be announcing its results for the third quarter ending 30 September 2006 on Thursday 2 November 2006 at 11.00am GMT/6.00am Eastern. This will be followed by a conference call with financial analysts at 12.00pm GMT/7.00am Eastern, which can be heard live via webcast on the Smith & Nephew website at www.smith-nephew.com and available on the site archive shortly afterwards.

About Us

Smith & Nephew (LSE: SN, NYSE:SNN) is one of the world's leading medical devices companies, specialising in Orthopaedic Reconstruction, Orthopaedic Trauma and Clinical Therapies, Endoscopy and Advanced Wound Management. Smith & Nephew is a global leader in arthroscopy and advanced wound management and is one of the leading orthopaedics companies.

Smith & Nephew is dedicated to helping improve people's lives. The company prides itself on the strength of its relationships with its surgeon and healthcare professional customers, with whom its name is synonymous with the highest standards of performance, innovation and trust. The company has over 8,500 employees and operates in 33 countries around the world, generating sales of over $2.6 billion.

Enquiries:

 Smith & Nephew UK
 Julie Allen                                  Tel: +44 (0)20 7401 7646
 Investor Relations Co-ordinator

 Financial Dynamics UK
 David Yates/Debbie Scott                     Tel: +44 (0)20 7831 3113

 Financial Dynamics US
 Jonathan Birt                                    Tel: +1 212 850 5634




                      This information is provided by RNS
            The company news service from the London Stock Exchange