Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

November 18, 2008 16:36 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 18, 2008) -

I wish to congratulate all the winners of the 2008 Governor General's Literary Awards.

This is the 72nd year that the Awards are being presented. They recognize Canadian authors who have distinguished themselves through the quality and originality of their writing in the categories of fiction, poetry, drama, non-fiction, children's literature (text and illustration) and translation, in English and in French.

This year's 14 winners have brilliantly represented Canadian life in words. They have shown yet again that Canada has an abundance of talented authors and that our literary sector is highly dynamic. In addition to raising our country's profile on the international literary scene, these writers are a true source of inspiration for everyone who loves writing. This year's winners include Marie-Claire Blais and Stéphane Jorisch, each receiving an Award for the fourth time.

For the full list of winners, visit the website of the Canada Council for the Arts at

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I once again congratulate each of this year's winners and thank them for giving us unforgettable reading experiences.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken
    Director of Communications