Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

July 07, 2009 18:38 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, and the Honourable Vic Toews, President of the Treasury Board and Regional Minister for Manitoba...

... on the Occasion of the Death of Leo Mol

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - July 7, 2009) - With the death of Leo Mol, Canada has lost a tremendously talented and distinguished artist and sculptor.

"For over 50 years, Leo Mol worked diligently at his art. Honing his skills from a young age, he lived most of his adult life in Manitoba, earning many honours, including the Order of Canada. His contributions to Manitoba, and indeed all of Canada, will never be forgotten."

An internationally renowned artist, Leo Mol worked in materials ranging from paint to ceramics, and from stained glass to cast bronze. His award-winning sculptures and stained glass windows can be found around the world in institutions that include the Vatican Museum, the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, D.C., the Art Gallery of Ontario, and the McMichael Canadian Art Collection. As well, his statue of John George Diefenbaker, Canada's 13th Prime Minister, graces Parliament Hill. In Winnipeg, Mr. Mol's home for more than half a century, the Leo Mol Sculpture Garden opened in Assiniboine Park in 1992 as a permanent showcase for his work and is visited by approximately 250,000 people each year.

In addition to many other tributes Mr. Mol received in recognition of his distinguished career, he was an elected member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts and was appointed to the Order of Canada in April 1989, and to the Order of Manitoba in 2000.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, we would like to express our condolences to Mr. Mol's family and friends.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Stephanie Rea, Press Secretary
    Office of the President of the Treasury Board
    Christine Csversko
    Director of Communications