Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

June 06, 2009 09:00 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Occasion of the 32nd National Magazine Awards Gala

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 6, 2009) - For more than three decades, the National Magazine Awards Foundation has rewarded texts, visual art, and magazines that have distinguished themselves in various areas of the country, in either of our official languages. Again this year, the National Magazine Awards Gala affirms the vitality of our magazine industry, which, through the diversity and quality of the works it offers, plays a key role in the Canadian cultural landscape. These awards, which also pay tribute to the accomplishments of students and new authors, make a concrete contribution to the development of a strong new generation of artists.

Because they reflect our realities and concerns and address subjects that resonate with citizens all across our vast country, our magazines are a special part of our everyday life. Our Government is proud to be able to support Canadian magazines. Our most recent budget demonstrated our commitment to a stable magazine-publishing industry. The creation of the Canadian Magazine Fund for periodicals will allow this industry to continue to contribute to our economy and our quality of life.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I congratulate the winners of the 32nd National Magazine Awards, and I commend your dedication to conveying accurate, pertinent, and interesting information to your Canadian readers. Your contribution to our society's great debates as well as to the development of our culture is essential, and I invite you to pursue your efforts in this direction. I would also like to thank the National Magazine Awards Foundation and the volunteer members of this year's jury. Your dedication to highlighting the best in the magazine industry deserves to be acknowledged.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications