Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

January 15, 2010 18:26 ET

Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Presentation of British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction 2010

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Jan. 15, 2010) - Works of non-fiction make it possible for readers to explore diverse themes and discover new worlds. Canada is home to many talented authors who are able to share their experiences and insights, as well as their passion for writing, with readers at home and abroad.

British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction-the richest book prize of its kind in the country-is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. It is the only national book prize to originate in British Columbia and comes with a prize of $40,000 for the winner and $2,500 for the finalists.

I would like to offer my congratulations to this year's winner, Ian Brown, for The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search for His Disabled Son.

I also want to congratulate all the other finalists for their success.

The three other finalists were Karen Connelly for Burmese Lessons: A Love Story; Eric Siblin for The Cello Suites: J.S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece; and Kenneth Whyte for The Uncrowned King: The Sensational Rise of William Randolph Hearst.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to recognize the hard work of this year's winner, as well as all the shortlisted finalists. I would also like to commend the British Columbia Achievement Foundation on its efforts to recognize excellence among Canadian writers.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications