Funiculaire du Vieux-Québec

Funiculaire du Vieux-Québec

June 18, 2009 14:35 ET

The Funiculaire du Vieux-Quebec Celebrates its 130th Anniversary: 1879-2009

QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - June 18, 2009) - Mr. Patrice Armstrong, president of Funiculaire du Vieux-Quebec Inc., invites you to come and share a birthday cake to mark the Funiculaire du Vieux-Quebec's 130 years. The cake will be served on the Dufferin Terrace, Saturday, June 20, 2009, from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. In case of rain, the activity will be rescheduled for the following day.

The Funiculaire du Vieux-Quebec, an inclined elevator accessible from the terrace at the foot of the Chateau Frontenac, was inaugurated in 1879. Upper Town was thus joined via mechanical link to the Lower Town's Quartier Petit Champlain. The Armstrong family acquired the funicular in 1964. Today it is one of the oldest installations in Quebec still in operation.

Parks Canada, which owns the Dufferin Terrace, is also celebrating the 130th anniversary of the boardwalk this summer. A summer program of free activities has been planned for the public. The president of the Funiculaire du Vieux-Quebec is pleased to collaborate with Parks Canada to present this summer's activities. A frequent highlight will be the interpreters masquerading as famous people and circulating on the terrace or riding the funicular to tell their stories to passersby.

A ride on the funicular comes with a breathtaking view of the St. Lawrence. Rides are $1.75 per person. Hours of operation are from 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. every day.

Contact Information