August 07, 2009 11:00 ET

Transport Canada: Re-appointment to Marine Atlantic Inc.

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 7, 2009) - Canada's Transport Minister John Baird along with Minister of State for Transport Rob Merrifield today announced the re-appointment of St. John's, NL native Mr. Robert Crosbie as chair of the Marine Atlantic Inc. Board of Directors.

"I am pleased that Mr. Crosbie has agreed to continue to lead the board of Marine Atlantic Inc.," said Baird. "His business experience has been and will continue to be an important asset to the organization."

"Mr. Crosbie's hard work and dedication to Marine Atlantic have been evident during his first term as board chair," said Minister Merrifield. "His reappointment ensures the strong leadership and direction he has shown the Marine Atlantic board will continue."

Mr. Crosbie was first appointed to the board of directors in October 2006. This new term will last for five years.

Mr. Crosbie earned a bachelor's degree in commerce from Memorial University and completed executive education courses at Thunderbird University in Arizona and Cranfield University in the United Kingdom. He currently serves as chairman of the Crosbie Group Ltd. and president of Crosbie Salamis and ASCO Canada Ltd., based in Calgary.

Marine Atlantic Inc. is a federal Crown corporation that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities. The Corporation provides a constitutionally mandated passenger and commercial marine transportation system between the Island of Newfoundland and the Province of Nova Scotia. Its mission is to provide a safe, environmentally responsible and quality ferry service in a reliable and cost-effective manner.

Transport Canada is online at Subscribe to news releases and speeches at and keep up to date on the latest from Transport Canada.

This news release may be made available in alternative formats for persons with visual disabilities.

Contact Information

  • Chris Day
    Press Secretary
    Office of Transport Minister John Baird, Ottawa
    Chris Hilton
    Office of Minister of State (Transport) Rob Merrifield