Vancouver 2010

Vancouver 2010

May 17, 2006 16:15 ET

Vancouver 2010 Welcomes Olympian Beckie Scott to the Board of Directors, Thanks Olympian Catriona Le May Doan

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(CCNMatthews - May 17, 2006) - The Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games (VANOC) welcomes the Canadian Olympic Committee's (COC) appointment of two-time Olympic medalist Beckie Scott to its Board of Directors and extends its thanks to three-time Olympic medalist Catriona Le May Doan for her service on the Board.

Scott replaces Catriona Le May Doan, who resigned her position on VANOC's Board to allow for Scott's appointment in accordance with VANOC's contractual and constitutional bylaws. Scott will begin her term at VANOC's next Board meeting in July.

"We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have the leadership, experience and influence of such prominent Canadian athletes on VANOC's Board," said Jack Poole, Chair of the VANOC Board of Directors.

"VANOC's ultimate responsibility is prepare the field of play to give the world's elite winter athletes the opportunity to deliver their best performance in 2010," continued Poole. "In the end the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games are about sport and athletes, and Beckie as a member of the Organizing Committee will keep us focused on that."

Le May Doan has been a member of the VANOC Board since the Organizing Committee was formed in October 2003. VANOC thanks Le May Doan for her years of service to the VANOC Board, as well as her tireless efforts during the Bid for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Games.

"Catriona was one of our earliest supporters, and her leadership continued as a member of the Board," said Jack Poole. "Catriona represents the strength of Canadian athletes and amateur sport and we look forward to continuing our strong relationship with her on the road to 2010."

The Host City Contract with the International Olympic Committee (IOC) requires that all Canadian members of the IOC be included on the VANOC Board of Directors. The VANOC corporate constitution provides that the COC is entitled to appoint seven of the total of twenty VANOC Board members and that all Canadian IOC members will be included within the COC's appointees.

Scott became eligible for VANOC's Board in February 2006 when she was elected to the IOC's Athletes' Commission during the Torino 2006 Winter Games, making her Canada's second IOC member along with Richard Pound. She also sits on the board of the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport.

As one of the seven Directors appointed by the COC, Scott joins Michael Chambers, Walter Sieber, Charmaine Crooks, Michael Phelps, Richard Pound and Chris Rudge.

VANOC is guided by a 20-member board of directors nominated by the Government of Canada, the Province of British Columbia, the City of Vancouver, the Resort Municipality of Whistler, the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the Four Host First Nations. A full listing of VANOC's Board members is available at

Contact Information