November 15, 2006 12:33 ET

Warren Beatty to Receive HFPA's Cecil B. DeMille Award at 64th Annual Golden Globe Awards to Be Telecast Live on NBC on Jan. 15

HOLLYWOOD, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- November 15, 2006 -- Warren Beatty will be honored at next January's Golden Globe Awards telecast with the Cecil B. DeMille Award for lifetime achievement. The award, voted by the Board of Directors of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, was announced today at a morning press conference by James Caan.

The DeMille Award will be presented to Beatty at "The 64th Annual Golden Globe Awards" to be held Monday, January 15, 2007 and telecast live on NBC (8-11 pm EST).

Beatty received five Golden Globes; including one as Best Actor (Comedy or Musical) for "Heaven Can Wait" and another as Best Director for "Reds." He also received Golden Globes as producer of Best Picture (Drama) "Bugsy" and Best Picture (Comedy or Musical) for "Heaven Can Wait." He has received a total of 12 Golden Globe nominations; including Best Actor (Drama) for "Reds," "Bugsy," "Bonnie and Clyde" and "Splendor In the Grass." He received Best Actor (Comedy or Musical) nominations for "Bulworth" and "Shampoo." He also received Best Screenplay nominations for "Bulworth" and "Reds." The Hollywood Foreign Press Association named him "Most Promising Newcomer" in 1962.

Recent Cecil B. DeMille winners include Anthony Hopkins (2006), Robin Williams (2005), Michael Douglas (2004), Gene Hackman (2003), Harrison Ford (2002), Al Pacino (2001), Barbra Streisand (2000), and Jack Nicholson (1999).

Nominations for "The 64th Annual Golden Globe Awards" will be announced at 5:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 14. "The 64th Annual Golden Globe Awards" will take place Monday, January 15, 2007 at The Beverly Hilton with a live telecast airing on NBC at 8 PM (EST) and produced by dick clark productions in association with the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. Philip Berk is President of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. Allen Shapiro and Barry Adelman are executive producers. Chris Donovan is director. Al Schwartz is consulting producer. Ken Shapiro is producer. Ron Weed is co-producer

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Michael Russell
    (310) 939-9024