October 29, 2006 09:49 ET

A 14th East Division Championship for the Alouettes

A Sixth Championship in the Last Eight Years

MONTREAL, QUEBEC--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 29, 2006) - With the victory over the Toronto Argonauts, the Montreal Alouettes won a 14th East Division Championship since their beginning in 1946.

It is the team's sixth East Division title in the last eight years.

The Alouettes have gone to the Grey Cup nine times after winning their division, winning the league's ultimate showdown three times while losing five finals against the Edmonton Eskimos. Montreal has won five Grey Cup since 1946.

East Division Championships
Year Head coaches Records Final results
1946 Lew Hayman 7-3-2 East Semifinal loss vs Toronto
1953 Douglas Walker 8-6-0 East Championship loss vs Hamilton
1954 Douglas Walker 11-3-0 Grey Cup loss vs Edmonton
1955 Douglas Walker 9-3-0 Grey Cup loss vs Edmonton
1956 Douglas Walker 10-4-0 Grey Cup loss vs Edmonton
1974 Marv Levy 9-5-2 1974 Grey Cup Champions
1977 Marv Levy 11-5-0 1977 Grey Cup Champions
1979 Joe Scanella 11-4-1 Grey Cup loss vs Edmonton
1999 Charlie Taaffe 12-6-0 East Championship loss vs Hamilton
2000 Charlie Taaffe 12-6-0 Grey Cup loss vs BC
2002 Don Matthews 13-5-0 2002 Grey Cup Champions
2003 Don Matthews 13-5-0 Grey Cup loss vs Edmonton
2004 Don Matthews 14-4-0 East Championship loss vs Toronto
2005 Don Matthews/
Jim Popp 10-8 -

Contact Information

  • The Montreal Alouettes
    Louis-Philippe Dorais
    Director of Media Relations
    (514) 253-0008
    The Montreal Alouettes
    Francis Dupont
    Assistant to the Director of Media Relations
    (514) 886-9544