November 25, 2014 12:00 ET

AAAASF Board of Directors Conducts Election of Officers

Enters 35th Year With New Leadership

GURNEE, IL--(Marketwired - November 25, 2014) - The board of directors for the American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, Inc. (AAAASF) elected officers and welcomed two new board members Oct. 25.

The officers are as follows:

  • President: Dr. Foad Nahai of Atlanta, where he is a professor of plastic surgery at Emory University
  • President-elect: Dr. David C. Watts of Vineland, New Jersey
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Lawrence S. Reed of New York
  • Vice President of External Relations: Darrell Ranum of Columbus, Ohio
  • Vice President of Standards: Dr. Hector Vila, Jr. of Tampa, Florida
  • Vice President of Education: Dr. Gary M Brownstein of Cherry Hill, New Jersey

The new board members are Dr. Paul J. LoVerme of Verona, New Jersey and Dr. William B. Rosenblatt of New York. Also during the board meeting, members presented a Past President's Award to outgoing President Dr. Geoffrey R. Keyes of Los Angeles. He passed the gavel of leadership to Nahai.

Nahai is internationally recognized as an innovator in the field of plastic surgery where he has developed and refined many procedures. He has co-authored 10 books and published more than 190 scientific articles on all aspects of plastic surgery. The latest book he authored and edited, published in 2011, is the second edition of his three-volume text entitled, The Art of Aesthetic Surgery. He served as the 2008 to 2010 president of the International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ISAPS), is a past president of the American Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS), former director of the American Board of Plastic Surgery and is currently Editor-In-Chief of the Aesthetic Surgery Journal.

Nahai said, "We are very pleased to welcome Paul and Bill to the AAAASF board of directors. Their leadership, commitment to patient safety and surgical expertise will make them valuable contributors to AAAASF as we continue to grow our business and mission of safety."

The board also named Theresa Griffin-Rossi, Certified Association Executive (CAE), as the AAAASF executive director, changing her status from interim executive director. She is the first female executive director to lead AAAASF in its 35 years. In addition, a Service Recognition Award was also presented to Dr. James A. Yates of Camp Hill, Pennsylvania.

About the AAAASF

The American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, Inc. (AAAASF) was established in 1980 to develop an accreditation program to standardize and improve the quality of medical and surgical care in outpatient facilities while assuring the public that patient safety is top priority in an accredited facility. More than 2,100 outpatient facilities are accredited by AAAASF, one of the largest not-for-profit accrediting organizations in the United States. Surgeons, legislators, state and national health agencies and patients acknowledge that AAAASF stands alone as the program setting the "gold standard" for quality patient care. For more information, visit or Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.

The following files are available for download:

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Kim Kubiak
    Public Relations and Marketing Manager
    Phone: 847-775-7915