Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

October 24, 2006 21:05 ET

AAFC: Minister Strahl Statement on Reaction to Revised Voters List

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 24, 2006) - The Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board, today issued the following statement related to the stakeholder reaction to last week's announcement of changes to the manner in which wheat and barley producers are eligible to vote in the upcoming Canadian Wheat Board (CWB) Director elections.

"Canada's New Government is committed to ensuring that the process of electing new directors to the board of the CWB is undertaken in a transparent and responsible manner.

"The CWB board of director Election Panel review concluded in November 2005 that actual producers should be defined as those who have delivered grain in one of the last two years. The CWB accepted the Panel's recommendations. Based on this, I decided that individuals who have had zero deliveries in recent years should not be automatically added to the voters list. They can have their names added by making a statutory declaration as defined under the Act.

"As the Minister of Agriculture, it is my responsibility to ensure a fair and equitable CWB election process for Canada's western grain producers. Canada's New Government remains committed to providing marketing choice to Western Canadian grain farmers while continuing to preserve a strong and viable Canadian Wheat Board."

For more information on marketing choice, please visit

Contact Information

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Ottawa
    Media Relations
    613-759-7972 or 1-866-759-7972
    Minister Strahl's office
    Jeff Howard
    Press Secretary