Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

October 17, 2006 14:16 ET

AAFC: Ministerial Statement on Voters List for CWB Director Elections

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 17, 2006) - The Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board, today issued the following statement related to the eligibility to vote in the upcoming Canadian Wheat Board (CWB) Director elections.

"Canada's New Government is committed to ensuring that western Canadian grain farmers have input to the discussion on the future of marketing choice for western wheat and barley. This commitment includes making certain that the process to elect new directors to the board of the CWB is undertaken in a transparent and responsible manner.

"There is no definitive list of producers kept by the CWB or the Government of Canada, so the permit book system has been used to develop the voters list in the past. However, the current list includes a number of permit book holders that have had zero deliveries to the CWB in recent years. In fact, the CWB informed me that 16,169, or 36%, of the 44,578 producers on the preliminary list provided to the Election Coordinator made no deliveries in the past two crop years.

"I am pleased that the CWB agrees with the government that it would not be fair to automatically include the permit book holders that have had zero deliveries on the voters list. Instead, they will be eligible to vote in the same way as other producers of wheat and barley, such as feed grain suppliers, who do not currently hold permit books. Producers with zero sales can be added to the list if they file a statutory declaration with the Election Coordinator.

"I have asked the CWB to work with the Election Coordinator to compile the voters list on the basis of those who have actually sold and delivered grain to the CWB in the 2005-06 and 2006-07 crop years. It is my belief that this decision will result in a more equitable election process that empowers western Canadian grain farmers."

For more information on marketing choice, please go to:

Contact Information

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Ottawa
    Media Relations
    Minister Strahl's office
    Jeff Howard
    Press Secretary