SOURCE: The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation

March 20, 2007 09:38 ET

Abigail and Stephan Thernstrom to Receive 2007 Bradley Prize for Outstanding Achievement

Third of Four Prize Recipients Announced Today

MILWAUKEE, WI -- (MARKET WIRE) -- March 20, 2007 -- The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced today that one of four 2007 Bradley Prizes to honor outstanding achievement will be awarded to Abigail and Stephan Thernstrom. Stephan Thernstrom is the Winthrop professor of History at Harvard University. His wife Abigail is the vice-chair of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Both are Senior Fellows at the Manhattan Institute in New York.

The Thernstroms will be presented the award during a ceremony to be held at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, May 3. Former U.N. Ambassador John Bolton, Harvard professor Martin S. Feldstein and one other recipient will also be honored. Each award carries a stipend of $250,000.

"The Bradley Foundation is honoring Abigail and Stephan Thernstrom for their unwavering commitment to equality," said Michael W. Grebe, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Bradley Foundation. "Their research and their advocacy for equality of opportunity represent a much-needed voice of reason in American discourse."

Abigail Thernstrom earned a Ph.D from Harvard University's Department of Government. She was a member of the Massachusetts state Board of Education for more than a decade until her term ended in November 2006. Stephan Thernstrom holds a Ph.D from Harvard. The Thernstroms co-authored the well-received books "No Excuses: Closing the Racial Gap in Learning" and "America in Black and White: One Nation, Indivisible." They are at work on a new book on segregation in America tentatively titled "Don't Call it Segregation: The Myth of American Apartheid."

The selection was based on nominations solicited from more than 100 prominent individuals and chosen by a Selection Committee, which included: Thomas L. "Dusty" Rhodes, Michael W. Grebe, Hon. Robert H. Bork, Heather Mac Donald, Charles Krauthammer, Br. Bob Smith, George F. Will, and Dianne Sehler.

"Through the Bradley Prizes, we recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions and we hope to encourage others to strive for excellence in their respective fields," said Mr. Grebe.

Founded in 1985, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation is devoted to strengthening American democratic capitalism and the institutions, principles and values that sustain and nurture it. Its programs support limited, competent government; a dynamic marketplace for economic, cultural activity; and a vigorous defense, at home and abroad, of American ideas and institutions. Recognizing that responsible self-government depends on enlightened citizens and informed public opinion, the Foundation supports scholarly studies and academic achievement.

To schedule an interview with Bradley Foundation President & CEO, Michael Grebe, please contact Kevin McVicker with Shirley & Banister Public Affairs at (703) 739-5920 or (800) 536-5920.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Kevin McVicker
    Shirley & Banister Public Affairs
    (703) 739-5920/(800) 536-5920

    Lion House
    1241 North Franklin Place
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
    (414) 291-9915
    Fax (414) 291-9991

    Michael W. Grebe, President
    & Chief Executive Officer