The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP)

The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP)

November 21, 2012 08:00 ET

AFP's Greater Toronto Chapter Pays Tribute to Charitable Canadians at 2012 Philanthropy Awards

Honouring Canada's youth, fundraising professionals, corporations, and foundations for philanthropic excellence

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 21, 2012) - With the passing of Bill S-201 in Parliament this month, Canada is proud to be the first country in the world to permanently acknowledge National Philanthropy Day. To celebrate the occasion, the Association of Fundraising Professionals, Greater Toronto Chapter will recognize several Canadians at today's Philanthropy Awards Luncheon. Held at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, the Philanthropy Awards program each year honours the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of Canadians with respect to time, leadership and financial support.

The 2012 recipients include: Emmanuelle Gattuso and Allan Slaight (Outstanding Philanthropists); Tony Arrell (Outstanding Volunteer); Scotiabank (Outstanding Corporation); J.P. Bickell Foundation (Outstanding Foundation); Emi-Lee Commisso (Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy); The WoodGreen Foundation (Mo Davies Small Organization for Excellence in Fundraising); and Marnie Spears (Lifetime Achievement Award).

"The Association of Fundraising Professionals is very excited to be celebrating the wonderful achievements of seven outstanding philanthropists, volunteers and professionals at this year's Philanthropy Awards Luncheon," said Susan Horvath, president, AFP Greater Toronto Chapter. "We are humbled by the passion, dedication and talent of all our nominees. They have truly enriched their communities with their acts of volunteering and giving, and most of all, caring. We are confident that these award recipients will inspire you just as much as they have inspired us."

The Philanthropy Awards celebrate the outstanding time, leadership and financial contributions of organizations and individuals who have demonstrated excellence and best practices in achieving high-quality fundraising through their own efforts or their vision and strategy.

Every year, the Association of Fundraising Professionals receives hundreds of nominations that support the various award categories; all of which deserve recognition for their time, energy and donations garnered for their causes. Nominations are received through the Chapter's 1,200 members, and reviewed by the Awards Selection Committee.

Follow the AFP Philanthropy Awards on Twitter and hashtag #AFPCongress, Facebook and LinkedIn.

Note to editors:

Information regarding the passing of Bill S-201 in Canadian Parliament is from the Association of Fundraising Professionals.

View past recipients at:

About The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP)

The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) represents over 30,000 members in 229 chapters throughout the world, working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education and certification programs. The association fosters development and growth of fundraising professionals and promotes high ethical standards in the fundraising profession. For more information, go to

The AFP Foundation for Philanthropy - Canada was created in 1998 to ensure the advancement of philanthropy by supporting AFP's mission and goals in Canada. The foundation supports a number of education, training, ethical, scholarship, public affairs and translation activities related to fundraising and philanthropy.

About the AFP Greater Toronto Chapter Philanthropy Awards

These awards celebrate the outstanding contribution of time, leadership and financial support of a special group of Canadians who set new benchmarks of excellence in the acts of giving and volunteering. The 2012 recipients will be honoured at the Philanthropy Awards Luncheon from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. EST on Wednesday, November 21st at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, North Building, as part of Congress 2012, the Greater Toronto Chapter's annual conference. Please visit the Philanthropy Awards website to view award categories and past recipients:

Contact Information