Agricore United

Agricore United

January 31, 2006 13:22 ET

Agricore United Marks a Century of Service

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(CCNMatthews - Jan. 31, 2006) - Agricore United (TSX:AU.LV) will host its Annual Shareholders' Meeting in Winnipeg on February 8, 2006 followed by its Annual Members' Meeting February 8-9, 2006. The meetings will celebrate 100 years of service by Agricore United and its predecessors to the farmers of western Canada.

Grain Growers' Grain Company (GGGC), the first of the heritage companies of Agricore United, was founded by a group of farmers at Sintaluta, Saskatchewan on January 27, 1906. It opened for business in Winnipeg in September of that year. "Through its heritage companies, Agricore United has deep roots in prairie agriculture," says Agricore United Chair Wayne Drul. "We are proud to honour the vision and determination of our founders who helped shape the industry."

GGGC was the forerunner to United Grain Growers Ltd. (UGG) established in 1917. Alberta Wheat Pool commenced operations in 1923 and Manitoba Pool Elevators in 1924. The Alberta and Manitoba pools merged in 1998, joining with UGG in 2001 to form Agricore United.

The Agricore United Annual Members' Meeting provides a forum for 147 delegates representing over 40,000 farmer-members to elect member-directors, provide input on farm policy and hear presentations by industry leaders.

Among the featured speakers at the Winnipeg meeting will be Allen Andreas, Chair & CEO of Archer Daniels Midland who will discuss the rapid growth of ethanol and biodiesel. There will also be presentations by Fred Green, President and COO of CP Rail, John P. Oliver, President, Maple Leaf Bio-Concepts and Kelley Fitzpatrick, Coordinator, Flax Canada 2015.

Delegates will consider resolutions on a variety of issues including a proposed policy framework for Agricore United, renewable fuels, international trade, grain marketing & transportation and farm income support programs.

All sessions are being held at the Fairmont Winnipeg and are open to the news media. Information concerning the Annual Shareholders' meeting is provided in the company's Notice of 2005 Annual and Special Meeting and Management Proxy Circular. Biographies of member-director candidates and a list of resolutions can be found on the website at There will be a live webcast of the annual shareholders' meeting. Media and other interested parties are invited to log onto the Agricore United website on Wednesday, February 8, 2006 at 9 a.m. CST (8 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. EST).

Agricore United is one of Canada's leading agri-business with headquarters in Winnipeg, Manitoba and extensive operations and distribution capabilities across western Canada. Agricore United leverages its technology, facilities, services and logistics expertise to connect prairie-based agricultural customers to domestic and international end-use customers and suppliers. The company's operations are diversified into sales of crop inputs and services, grain merchandising, livestock production services and financial services. Agricore United's common shares are traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol "AU.LV".

Fairmont Winnipeg, Winnipeg, MB
February 8-9, 2006


Wednesday, February 8, 2006

9:00 a.m. Annual Shareholders' Meeting
Presentation by Wayne Drul, Chair AU
Presentation by Brian Hayward, CEO AU

10:30 a.m. Annual Members' Meeting

11:45 a.m. Delegate Lunch
Guest Speaker: Chris Martin, Vice-President
Corporate Affairs & General Counsel, Agricore United

1:00 p.m. Guest Speaker: Allen Andreas, Chair and CEO
Archer Daniels Midland, Ethanol and Biodiesel

2:00 p.m. Member-director nominations and speeches

3:00 p.m. Resolutions

6:30 p.m. Banquet

Thursday, February 9, 2006

8:30 a.m. Guest Speakers: John Oliver, Ag Futurist
Kelley Fitzpatrick, Coordinator, Flax Canada 2015

10:30 a.m. Election of member-directors

12:00 p.m. Lunch - Guest Speaker: Fred Green, President and COO,
CP Rail

1:00 p.m. The World Trade Organization (WTO)
Guest Speakers: Alanna Koch, Director AU and
Vice-President CAFTA Cam Dahl, Government Relations
& Policy Development Officer, AU

2:00 p.m. Resolutions

Contact Information