Alberta Medical Association

Alberta Medical Association

September 23, 2010 14:49 ET

Alberta Medical Association Installs New President

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 23, 2010) - The Alberta Medical Association (AMA) will induct its 2010-11 president this Saturday, September 25, during its annual general meeting and Representative Forum.

Dr. Patrick J. (P.J.) White will begin his term as president during the meeting, which will be held at the Sutton Place Hotel in Edmonton. Dr. White practises general adult psychiatry and specializes in psychiatric rehabilitation. For many years, Dr. White ran the Psychosocial, Vocational and Behavioral Unit at Alberta Hospital Edmonton, an innovative unit unique to Alberta. As well, he was regional clinical director for addiction and mental health with Alberta Health Services and played a leading role in the development and expansion of mental health services in the Edmonton area.

A clinical professor and chair of the Department of Psychiatry, University of Alberta, Dr. White is an executive member and past president of the Alberta Psychiatric Association and past president of the Canadian Psychiatric Association.

During Saturday's meeting, Dr. Anne Doig, Immediate Past President, Canadian Medical Association (CMA), will install Dr. White as president of the AMA. In addition, she will present the CMA Honorary Membership Awards.

Dr. Doig, a Saskatchewan family physician, received her medical degree from the University of Saskatchewan's College of Medicine in 1976 and has been in full-time family practice since 1978. A clinical associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Saskatchewan, Dr. Doig is an original contributor to the ALARM (Advances in Labour and Risk Management) program of the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada. She is the current chair of the CMA Bylaws Committee and has been a member of the Saskatchewan Medical Association's Board of Directors and of its finance and executive committees.

That same day, outgoing AMA President Dr. Christopher J. (Chip) Doig will deliver his valedictory address, discussing the highlights of his year in office and the issues and challenges that have faced the AMA and its members over the past year.

Representative Forum is the governing body of the AMA. It includes representatives of all sectors of the profession – president and president-elect, past presidents, sections, regions, students, residents and deans of medicine. The Representative Forum meets twice annually to establish policy and set direction for the association. The AMA president serves a one-year term, in addition to one year each as president-elect and immediate past president.

For more information, or to request an interview, please contact Shannon E. Rupnarain.

Contact Information