Alberta Medical Association

Alberta Medical Association

September 07, 2005 11:35 ET

Alberta Medical Association : New Scholarship Awards Medical Students Full Tuition for One Year

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 7, 2005) - On September 15, the Alberta Medical Association's (AMA) Section of Rural Medicine is awarding the second annual Tarrant Scholarship, Alberta's largest medical school undergraduate award, in Calgary.

Named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Tarrant, a family physician from Calgary who championed rural medical undergraduate education, the scholarship awards a full year's tuition to a student in the faculty of medicine (at both the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary) who seeks a career in rural medicine in Alberta. Award recipients must demonstrate an interest in and dedication to rural medical issues during their undergraduate work.

"Dr. Tarrant was a firm believer in the benefits of seeking a rural medical career," said Dr. Allan S. Garbutt, the president of the AMA's Section of Rural Medicine. "His influence can be felt all throughout Alberta's rural communities."

The 2005 Tarrant Scholarship recipients are:

- Ryan Tooby, a third-year medical student at the University of Calgary
who will receive a scholarship of $12,788.

- Graeme Bishop, a third-year medical student at the University of
Alberta who will receive a scholarship of $10,885.84.

Location: Dean's Conference Room
G362-3330 Hospital Dr NW
Calgary Health Sciences Centre
Date: September 15
Itinerary: Award ceremony 12 p.m., appetizers and dessert to follow

Contact Information

  • Alberta Medical Association
    Marc Simao, BA, PR
    Communications Officer, Public Affairs
    (780) 482-2626