Alberta Medical Association

Alberta Medical Association

September 24, 2009 11:41 ET

Alberta Medical Association Recognizes Five Albertans for Their Dedication to Quality Health Care

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - Sept. 24, 2009) - On Friday, September 25 during its annual general meeting and Representative Forum (RF) in Calgary, the Alberta Medical Association (AMA) will honor five Albertans for their unwavering commitment to health care. The AMA's Medal of Honor and Medal for Distinguished Service represent the highest honors bestowed by the AMA and its members.

The Medal of Honor is presented to non-physicians who have made a significant contribution to ensuring quality health care for the people of Alberta. This year the AMA is recognizing two Medal of Honor winners - an elected official who worked diligently to improve access to quality health care facilities for everyone within the Town of Fairview, and a respiratory therapist who has dedicated himself to the care of those living with cardiac disease in Lethbridge and its surrounding communities.

A former councillor and reeve for the Town of Fairview, Walter Doll worked tirelessly to ensure the citizens of Fairview have access to quality health care. Over the past 23 years, Mr. Doll dedicated countless hours to attracting and retaining medical staff, and improving hospital facilities, equipment and services within the community. He was instrumental in securing funding and support for the building of the Fairview Health Complex, and lobbied vigorously for the funds required for its expansion. Sadly, this award is being presented posthumously, as Mr. Doll passed away on July 9, 2009, at the age of 74.

Respiratory therapist Rick Linton has spent his entire career caring for the people of the Chinook Health Region. Recently, Chinook Health engaged in the Alberta Cardiac Access Collaborative, a provincial project that improves access to adult cardiac services, and Mr. Linton has been instrumental in supporting the project. Through his work in assessing patients, referring them to the appropriate heart failure services and advocating on their behalf, Mr. Linton has helped improve outcomes and the quality of life for these patients. He is also a passionate educator, who has helped colleagues better understand the assessment and management of chronic respiratory conditions.

The Medal for Distinguished Service is given to physicians who have made an outstanding personal contribution to medicine and to the people of Alberta, and in the process have contributed to the art and science of medicine while raising the standards of medical practice. This year three physicians are being recognized with Medals for Distinguished Service - Edmonton neurosurgeon and educator, Dr. Peter B. Allen; Calgary rheumatologist and professor, Dr. Martin H. Atkinson; and Spruce Grove family physician and primary care network leader, Dr. Allan L. Bailey.

Dr. Peter Allen is a neurosurgical pioneer, educator and mentor, who is considered by many physicians to be the father of modern neurosurgery in Alberta. During his 40-year career, Dr. Allen maintained a busy surgical practice while training dozens of neurosurgeons, becoming the longest serving chief of neurosurgery in the history of the University of Alberta. Retired since 2001, Dr. Allen continues to share his expertise as a professor emeritus and a mentor to both staff and students in the department of medicine.

Dr. Martin Atkinson is a highly respected rheumatologist and educator, who has devoted himself equally to patients and students throughout his career. He has taught at the University of Calgary (U of C) since 1971, and was instrumental in establishing the rheumatic disease unit at the U of C. For 30 years he supervised internal medicine trainees on their rotation through the rheumatic disease unit, and has received numerous awards for his teaching excellence. As a clinician, he has worked tirelessly to improve outcomes for people living with arthritis and related conditions.

Dr. Allan Bailey is a Spruce Grove family physician who was instrumental in establishing one of Alberta's first primary care networks. A long-time advocate for interdisciplinary patient-centred care, in 2005 Dr. Bailey led a local group of physicians to establish the WestView Primary Care Network. Dr. Bailey is also an associate clinical professor at the University of Alberta and passionate community supporter who has spearheaded several community health promotion projects.

These AMA awards will be presented this Friday, September 25 during an evening presentation at the AMA's annual general meeting and Representative Forum, at the Westin hotel in Calgary.

Contact Information

  • Alberta Medical Association
    Ronald A. Kustra, ABC
    Assistant Executive Director (Public Affairs)
    Cell: (780) 990-4271
    Alberta Medical Association
    Shannon E. Rupnarain, MBA, ABC
    Director (Public Affairs)
    Cell: (780) 907-9003