Alberta Medical Association

Alberta Medical Association

September 13, 2006 16:48 ET

Alberta Medical Association Recognizes Two Albertans for Their Dedication to Health Care and the Community

EDMONTON, ALBERTA--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 13, 2006) - The Alberta Medical Association (AMA) will honor two outstanding Albertans during the association's annual general meeting and Representative Forum in Edmonton. The AMA's Medal of Honor and Medal for Distinguished Service represent the highest honors bestowed by the AMA and its members.

The awards, along with AMA physician awards for long-service and member emeritus standing, will be presented this Friday, September 15 during a luncheon presentation at the AMA meetings.

The AMA Medal of Honor is presented to non-physicians who have made significant contributions to ensuring quality health care for the people of Alberta. This year's Medal of Honor winner is Harold Kingston, FCA, a partner and founder of Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP, one of Edmonton's largest accounting firms.

His volunteer involvement in the non-profit sector includes work with social, arts and health and medical organizations. Throughout, he has offered guidance and expertise regarding financial reporting and budgeting processes.

In particular, Mr. Kingston has acted as a board member, treasurer and chair of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation of Alberta and the Northwest Territories, providing direction for the financial resources of grants for leading-edge breast cancer research.

Mr. Kingston has also served as chair and treasurer of the Alberta Diabetes Foundation, where he was instrumental in the organization's commitment to raise $10 million toward the diabetes wing of the Health Research and Innovation Facility, and as a board member involved in raising more than $3 million to fund the human clinical trials of the Edmonton Protocol.

The AMA Medal for Distinguished Service is given to physicians who have made outstanding personal contributions to medicine and to the people of Alberta, and in the process have contributed to the art and science of medicine while raising the standards of medical practice.

This year the award goes to Dr. D. Gregory Powell, the President and founder of STARS - Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society and Shock Trauma Air Rescue Services Foundation. Dr. Powell is a full professor of emergency medicine at the University of Calgary.

Dr. Powell has spent more than 30 years working as a physician, educator and innovator in the field of emergency medicine and continues to be involved in research, writing articles, and speaking on emergency and air medicine.

Since the inception of STARS in 1985, more than 14,000 missions have been carried out with a perfect safety record. STARS offers essential and immediate emergency medical services to urban and rural areas in Alberta and parts of southern British Columbia, while also offering health professionals the opportunity to learn and serve with the STARS organization. STARS introduced innovative approaches to emergency medicine including the mobile Human Patient Simulator, which Dr. Powell pioneered.

Dr. Powell has received several significant awards during his career, most recently being appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada. In 2005, Alberta's centenary, he was named one of Alberta's 100 Physicians of the Century and also received the Alberta Centennial Medal from the province. In 2003, he was recognized by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta with the Certificate of Meritorious Service.

To arrange an interview with award recipients, please see contact at the end of this press release:

Contact Information

  • Alberta Medical Association
    Shannon E. Rupnarain, MBA, ABC
    Manager, Public Affairs
    (780) 499-8285