Canadian Pharmacists Association

Canadian Pharmacists Association

June 22, 2016 11:00 ET

Alberta Pharmacist Named 2016 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year

Edmonton Pharmacist and Researcher Recognized for Improving Women's Health

OTTAWA, ONTARIO and CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - June 22, 2016) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this press release

Edmonton pharmacist and researcher Dr. Nesé Yuksel has been named the 2016 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year and will be honoured during an award ceremony this Saturday, June 25 during the Canadian Pharmacists Conference in Calgary.

Dr. Yuksel is currently the Division Chair of Pharmacy Practice and a Professor at the University of Alberta's Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and practices on an interdisciplinary team at the Menopause Clinic at Lois Hole Hospital for Women (LHHW) in Edmonton. She is also a proud University of Alberta alumna (BScPharm '88).

"CPhA is very proud to recognize the significant contributions Nesé has made to the pharmacy profession," says Carlo Berardi, Chair, Canadian Pharmacists Association. "As a dedicated educator, active researcher and valued clinician in the areas of women's health and osteoporosis, Nesé has made a lasting impact on the lives of her patients, her students and the advancement of our profession."

Practicing in the area of women's health and osteoporosis for more than 17 years, Dr. Yuksel is a recognized expert in her field, combining her clinical interests and practice-based research to develop innovative techniques to enhance the way pharmacists practice. She feels fortunate that her clinical practice stimulates research ideas and has provided opportunities to collaborate with other women's health researchers and clinicians. She has led and collaborated on a wide-range of research projects, and is excited about her research team's current study on decision-making in women who have had early surgical menopause.

In her clinical practice at the menopause clinic at the LHHW, Dr. Yuksel works alongside a physician, nurse, and dietician to develop care plans that best suit the needs of women as they transition through menopause. This includes patient assessment, education, treatment and follow-up.

"I love working with patients in the clinic," says Dr. Yuksel. "We have women who have suffered so much with symptoms that have really impacted their lives. It feels so rewarding to see these women empowered to make the best decisions for themselves. I really feel as a team we make a difference in their care."

One of the first 15 pharmacists in Alberta to receive Additional Prescribing Authority (APA) in 2007, Dr. Yuksel has been a vocal advocate for advanced pharmacy practice, making significant contributions over the past decade through committees, publications and interviews in support of APA. She is now turning her passion for the evolving role of pharmacists into evidence by collaborating on research on pharmacist prescribing, as well as developing tools to support pharmacists in practice.

The Canadian Pharmacist of the Year Award is conferred annually to recognize a pharmacist who demonstrates leadership and exemplifies the evolution of the pharmacy profession toward an expanded role in health care.

Dr. Yuksel will be honoured alongside other CPhA Award winners at the Canadian Pharmacists Conference awards ceremony this Saturday in Calgary, Alberta.

More than 700 pharmacists and pharmacy stakeholders will be in Calgary from June 24-27 to discuss the key issues facing pharmacy in Canada and discover the latest in pharmacy practice research. The Canadian Pharmacists Conference 2016, jointly hosted by CPhA and the Alberta Pharmacists' Association (RxA), will feature over 50 learning sessions, exploring a range of key issues and innovative practices, including critical topics like assisted dying, medical marijuana, opioid addiction, immunization, and deprescribing.

Related Links

About the Canadian Pharmacists Association

The Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) is the uniting national voice of pharmacy and the pharmacist profession in Canada. As pharmacists undertake an enhanced role in the delivery of health care services, CPhA ensures that the profession is recognized as a national leader in health care, influencing the policies, programs, budgets and initiatives affecting the profession and the health of Canadians. More information is available at

About the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences - University of Alberta

As Alberta's only pharmacy school, the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is ranked in the top 35 in the world and top three in Canada. We have more than 55 faculty members and more than 550 graduate and undergraduate students. We prepare our graduates for a variety of careers in pharmacy practice, research, and teaching. Our graduates influence the continuously changing health care field through their leadership in the areas of policy, practice and business.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link:

To arrange an interview with Dr. Yuksel in Edmonton, please see contacts below.

Contact Information

  • Bernie Poitras, APR
    Communications Associate
    Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
    University of Alberta
    (780) 492-0662 or Cell: (780) 399-9170

    Mark McCondach
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Pharmacists Association
    (613) 523-7877 Ext. 285