SOURCE: American Medical Association

American Medical Association

June 12, 2014 10:05 ET

AMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2014-2015

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - June 12, 2014) - The American Medical Association (AMA) today introduced the 21 members of its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held during the Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates.

Robert M. Wah, M.D., a reproductive endocrinologist and obstetrician-gynecologist in McLean, Va., has been sworn in as the 169th president of the AMA, the nation's largest physician organization. Dr. Wah, who is the organization's first Chinese-American president, will focus his tenure on advancing the AMA's three strategic areas: improving health outcomes, accelerating change in medical education, and enhancing physician satisfaction and practice sustainability.

Steven J. Stack, M.D., an emergency physician practicing in Lexington, Ky., was named president-elect of the AMA, while Ardis Dee Hoven, M.D., an internal medicine and infectious disease specialist in Lexington, Ky., assumed the office of immediate past president.

The new chair of the AMA Board of Trustees is Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., a medical oncologist/hematologist from Albuquerque, N.M. Stephen R. Permut, M.D., J.D., a family medicine physician from Wilmington, Del., was chosen as chair-elect.

The other executive officers on the AMA Board of Trustees for 2014-2015 are:

  • Susan R. Bailey, M.D., an allergist, immunologist and pediatrician from Fort Worth, Texas, was re-elected vice speaker.
  • David O. Barbe, M.D., MHA, a family medicine physician from Mountain Grove, Mo., assumed the office of immediate past chair.
  • Andrew W. Gurman, M.D., an orthopedic surgeon from Hollidaysburg, Pa., was re-elected speaker.
  • Patrice A. Harris, M.D., a psychiatrist from Atlanta, Ga., was named secretary.

The newly elected members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H., an anesthesiologist from Nashville, Tenn.
  • Russ Kridel, M.D., a facial plastic surgeon from Houston, Texas.
  • Jack Resneck Jr., M.D., a dermatologist from San Francisco, Calif.

The returning members of the AMA Board of Trustees are:

  • Maya A. Babu, MD, MBA, a neurosurgical resident in Rochester, Minn.
  • Julie Goonewardene, associate vice chancellor for innovation and entrepreneurship for the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kan.
  • Gerald E. Harmon, M.D., a family medicine physician from Pawleys Island, S.C.
  • William E. Kobler, M.D., a family medicine physician from Rockford, Ill.
  • Mary Anne McCaffree, M.D., a pediatrician from Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Samuel Mackenzie, a medical student at SUNY Upstate Medical University in Syracuse, N.Y.
  • Albert J. Osbahr, M.D., a family and occupational physician from Hickory, N.C.
  • Carl A. Sirio, M.D., a critical care physician and internist from Pittsburgh, Pa.,
  • Georgia A. Tuttle, M.D., a dermatologist from Lebanon, N.H.

Members of the AMA Board of Trustees are elected by physicians and medical students representing more than 180 state and specialty medical societies who gathered in Chicago for the Annual Meeting of the House of Delegates, the AMA's primary policy-making body. The mission of the AMA Board of Trustees is to foster the promotion of the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.

About the AMA
The American Medical Association is the premier national organization dedicated to empowering the nation's physicians to continually provide safer, higher quality, and more efficient care to patients and communities. For more than 165 years the AMA has been unwavering in its commitment to using its unique position and knowledge to shape a healthier future for America.

Contact Information