SOURCE: AMA Houston Chapter

AMA Houston Chapter

February 04, 2015 19:18 ET

AMA Houston Announces the 2014 Marketer of the Year Award Program Event on March 5th

Twenty-One Best in Category Winners and the Overall Marketer of the Year to Be Announced During March 5, 2015 Awards Ceremony

HOUSTON, TX--(Marketwired - Feb 4, 2015) - The Houston Chapter of the American Marketing Association (AMA Houston) is pleased to announce that the 2014 Marketer of the Year (MOTY) Award event will be on March 5, 2015 at the Hobby Center Zilkha Hall during which the chapter will announce the Best in Category winners in 21 industry categories, as selected by a local panel of marketing professionals from the 95 nominated companies, organizations and institutions. During the awards event, the chapter will also announce Houston's 2014 Marketer of the Year, selected from among of these category winners by a panel of marketing professionals from across the country.

The Marketer of the Year award is AMA Houston's annual program that honors exceptional marketing efforts by Houston-area companies, organizations and institutions. The chapter established the Marketer of the Year Award in 2005 to recognize overall marketing excellence in the greater Houston area.

The keynote speaker will be Russ Klein, CEA of the AMA, who will discuss "Best Practices vs. Next Practices." Klein is responsible for the overall direction of the organization which is made up of 75 chapters across the nation. Klein began his career on the agency side, representing such brands as Gatorade, McDonald's and United Airlines. After moving to the client side, he held top marketing roles for brands including Dr. Pepper/Seven-Up, Burger King and Arby's.

New for this year's MOTY event is a "Legendary Dinners" silent auction during which attendees may bid on and win a personal, one-on-one dinner with one of eight Houston business leaders. They include Houston Mayor, Anise Parker; Houston Business Journal Publisher, John Beddow; Houston Texan, Whitney Merciless and others. For a list of all available auctioned dinners, visit

Prior winners of the top Marketer of the Year award include YMCA of Greater Houston (2013), Aliana Development (2012), Discovery Green (2011), University of Houston Athletic Department (2010), (2009), Kelsey-Seybold Clinic (2008), the Houston Zoo (2007), Weatherford International (2006) and the Houston Symphony (2005).

For more information about Marketer of the Year and registering to attend, visit and go to Events, Marketer of the Year. Individual tickets are $37.50 for AMA Houston members and $47.50 for non-members with discounts available to category finalist organizations for multiple tickets.

About AMA
AMA Houston is the area's premier professional marketing organization and among the largest AMA Chapters in North America. AMA Houston provides marketers the ability to remain competitive in today's business environment through networking events, special interest groups and real-world educational programs. AMA Houston was named Chapter of the Year six times in the past nine years by AMA's international headquarters.

Contact Information