SOURCE: American Diabetes Association

American Diabetes Association

June 05, 2012 15:19 ET

American Diabetes Association Announces Award Winners

Top Researchers, Clinicians and Educators Are Recognized for Their Commitment to Stop Diabetes®

ALEXANDRIA, VA--(Marketwire - Jun 5, 2012) - The American Diabetes Association, the nation's leading voluntary health organization in the fight to Stop Diabetes®, is proud to announce this year's recipients of the National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Awards.

The following leaders will receive their awards on Monday, June 11, at 10:15 a.m., at the Association's 72nd Scientific Sessions® taking place at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia.

National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Award Recipients

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement
Name: Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD
Title: Stanley J. Kosmeyer Professor of Cell Biology and Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award
Name: David Altshuler, MD, PhD
Title: Deputy Director and Chief Academic Officer, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT; Professor of Genetics and Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital, Cambridge, Mass.

Albert Renold Award
Name: George S. Eisenbarth, MD, PhD
Title: Director of Barbara Davis Center for Diabetes; Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine and Immunology, University of Colorado, Aurora, Colo.

Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award
Name: Robin Nwankwo, MPH, RD, CDE
Title: Diabetes Self-management Consultant and Educator, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award
Name: Georgeanna J. Klingensmith, MD
Title: Professor of Pediatrics, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Barbara Davis Center for Diabetes, Aurora, Colo.

Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes
Name: Pierre J. Lefèbvre, MD, PhD, FRCP, MNE
Title: Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Liège, Diabetes, Nutrition and Metabolic Disorders Unit, University Hospital of Liège, Liège, Belgium

Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology
Name: Knut Borch-Johnsen, MD, PhD
Title: Professor, Director of Research, Research Center for Quality in Health Care, Institute Public Health, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark

Samuel Rahbar Outstanding Discovery Award (One-time Award)
Name: Samuel Rahbar, MD, PhD
Title: Professor, City of Hope, Duarte, Calif.

Behavioral Medicine and Psychology Interest Group Award Lecture for Distinguished Contributions
Name: Lawrence Fisher, PhD, ABPP
Title: Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine and Psychiatry, University of California San Francisco, San Francisco

Norbert Frienkel Award Lecture
Name: E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, FACOG
Title: Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore

Roger Pecoraro Award Lecture
Name: Benjamin A. Lipsky, MD, FACP, FIDSA, FRCP
Title: Professor of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine, VA Puget Sound Health Care System, Seattle

Edwin Bierman Award Lecture
Name: Ronald M. Krauss, MD
Title: Senior Scientist and Director, Atherosclerosis Research, Children's Hospital Oakland Research Institute, Oakland, Calif.

More than 13,000 top scientists, physicians and other health care professionals from around the world will share the latest cutting-edge research and learn the most up-to-date information on prevention, treatment and care, at the Association's Scientific Sessions taking place June 8-12, 2012.

The American Diabetes Association is leading the fight to Stop Diabetes and its deadly consequences and fighting for those affected by diabetes. The Association funds research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes; delivers services to hundreds of communities; provides objective and credible information; and gives voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes. Founded in 1940, our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. For more information please call the American Diabetes Association at 1-800-DIABETES (1-800-342-2383) or visit Information from both these sources is available in English and Spanish.

Contact Information


Keyword Cloud

View Website