SOURCE: American Diabetes Association

American Diabetes Association

June 22, 2011 10:00 ET

American Diabetes Association Announces Awards

Researchers, Clinicians, Educators and Volunteers Acknowledged for Their Accomplishments in Diabetes

SAN DIEGO, CA--(Marketwire - Jun 22, 2011) - The American Diabetes Association, the nation's leading voluntary health organization in the fight to Stop Diabetes®, announced today that several leading researchers, clinicians, volunteers and educators in the diabetes field will be presented with national achievement awards this week.

The following leaders will receive the achievement awards at the Association's National Board Meeting, Community Volunteer Leadership Conference or at the American Diabetes Association's 71st Scientific Sessions®, all taking place in San Diego, CA. Complete bio information about the award recipients can be found here.

National Scientific & Health Care Achievement Award Recipients

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement
Name: Barbara E. Corkey, PhD, Boston, MA
Title: Vice Chair of Research, Evans Department of Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine; and Director, Obesity Research Center, Boston Medical Center

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award
Name: Matthias H. Tschoep, MD, Cincinnati, OH
Title: Professor of Endocrinology and the Arthur Russell Morgan Chair of Internal Medicine, and Research Director, Cincinnati Diabetes and Obesity Center, College of Medicine, University of Cincinnati

Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award
Name: Linda M. Siminerio, RN, PhD, CDE, Pittsburgh, PA
Title: Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh Diabetes Institute; Associate Professor, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and School of Nursing

Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology
Name: Frederick L. Brancati, MD, MHS, FACP, Baltimore, MD
Title: Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology, Director, Division of General Internal Medicine, Director, Diabetes Prevention & Control Core, Core Faculty, Welch Center, Johns Hopkins University

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award
Name: Jerry P. Palmer, MD, Seattle, WA
Title: Professor, Department of Medicine and Director, Diabetes Endocrinology Research Center, University of Washington; Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Nutrition, Veterans Affairs Puget Sound Health Care System

Harold Rifkin Award for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes
Name: Rury Holman, FRCP, Oxford, United Kingdom
Title: Director, University of Oxford Diabetes Trials Unit; Professor of Diabetic Medicine, University of Oxford; Honorary Consultant Physician to the Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals NHS Trust

Albert Renold Award
Name: Robert S. Sherwin, MD, Orange, CT
Title: CNH Long Professor of Medicine; Chief, Section of Endocrinology and Metabolism; Director, Yale Center for Clinical Investigation; Diabetes Endocrinology Research Center, Yale University School of Medicine

Behavioral Medicine and Psychology Interest Group Lecture Award for Distinguished Contributions
Name: Barbara J. Anderson, PhD, Houston, TX
Title: Professor, Pediatrics and Associate Head, Psychology Section, Baylor College of Medicine

Norbert Frienkel Lecture Award
Name: Peter Damm, MD, Copenhagen, Denmark
Title: Director, Center for Pregnant Women with Diabetes; Professor, Obstetrics, University of Copenhagen; Consultant, Obstetric Clinic, Juliane Marie Centre, Rigshospitalet; and Instructor, Danish Midwifery School, Copenhagen, Denmark

Edwin Bierman Lecture Award
Name: Theodore Mazzone, MD, FACP, Chicago, IL
Title: Chief, Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism, Department of Medicine, University of Illinois College of Medicine

Roger Pecoraro Lecture Award
Name: Robert G. Frykberg, DPM, MPH, Phoenix, AZ
Title: Chief, Podiatry Section, Department of Surgery, Carl T. Hayden Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Phoenix; Adjunct Professor, Podiatric Medicine, Midwestern University, Glendale, AZ

National Service Achievement Award Recipients

Wendell Mayes Jr. Medal for Outstanding Service in the Cause of Diabetes
Name: Darlene L. Cain, Portland, OR
Title: Chair of the Harold Schnitzer Diabetes Health Center, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland

Charles H. Best Medal for Distinguished Service in the Cause of Diabetes
Name: Donald J. Wagner and Arleen C. Wagner, Venetia, PA
Title: Community Volunteers and Philanthropists

Public Policy Leadership Award
Name: Representative Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Title: Chief Deputy Whip, United States House of Representatives

Addison B. Scoville Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service
Name: Joseph A. Stankaitis, MD, MPH, Rochester, NY
Title: Chief Medical Officer of the Monroe Plan for Medical Care in Rochester, NY

Charles H. Best Medal for Service
Name: John W. Griffin, Jr., Victoria, TX
Title: Chair of the Board, American Diabetes Association

Rachmiel Levine Medal for Service
Name: Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, MSPH, PhD, RD, Chapel Hill, NC
Title: President, Health Care & Education, American Diabetes Association

Banting Medal for Service
Name: Robert R. Henry, MD, San Diego, CA
Title: President, Medicine & Science, American Diabetes Association

Charles Kopke Medal for Service
Name: Dwight Holing, Orinda, CA
Title: Secretary/Treasurer, American Diabetes Association

More than 13,000 top scientists, physicians and other health care professionals from around the world will share cutting-edge research, treatment recommendations and advances toward a cure for diabetes at the Association's 71st Scientific Sessions June 24-28, 2011. Association volunteers from around the country will meet to approve and begin to implement the organization's new strategic plan at the Association's National Board Meeting and Community Volunteer Leadership Conference June 23-25, 2011.

The American Diabetes Association is leading the fight to stop diabetes and its deadly consequences and fighting for those affected by diabetes. The Association funds research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes; delivers services to hundreds of communities; provides objective and credible information; and gives voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes. Founded in 1940, our mission is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. For more information please call the American Diabetes Association at 1-800-DIABETES (1-800-342-2383) or visit Information from both these sources is available in English and Spanish.

Contact Information


Keyword Cloud

View Website