SOURCE: American Marketing Association Houston Chapter

American Marketing Association Houston Chapter

September 11, 2013 08:51 ET

American Marketing Association Houston Chapter Announces 2013 - 2014 Board of Directors

HOUSTON, TX--(Marketwired - Sep 11, 2013) - The Houston Chapter of the American Marketing Association announces its 2013-2014 Board of Directors. The Board consists of more than 40 volunteer-members that oversee membership, programming, communications and finances for the largest and most successful AMA chapter in North America. AMA Houston is the American Marketing Association's 2012 - 2013 Chapter of the Year, an achievement received six times in the last nine years by AMA's international headquarters.

The Houston chapter currently has more than 1,000 members and produces nearly 40 educational programs a year, including its special interest group events, monthly luncheons, annual MarketingEdge conference and premium award programs -- the Crystal Awards and Marketer of the Year.

Officers for the 2011 - 2012 AMA Houston Board of Directors are:

  • President - Dominique Shu, Decision Strategies
  • President-Elect - Jared Houser, Signet Interactive
  • Immediate Past President - Robin Tooms, Savage Brands
  • Executive Director - Gary Carson, Equamark
  • Treasurer - Philip Knox, Knox E-Business LLC
  • Secretary - Darla Bell, Metropolitan Transit Authority
  • Vice President, Marketing Communications - Nicole Tarner, Gimmal Group, Inc.
  • Vice President, Membership - Bob Tesh, HP
  • Vice President, Sponsorships - Diana Swift, Decision Strategies
  • Vice President, Strategy - Susan Farrell, Captavi

Board members include: Shanthi Subramanian, Gimmal Group, Inc.; Steven Leeper, Matchstick Staffing; Michelle LeBlanc, Blue Sky Marketing; Stephen May, cPanel Inc.; Jene Rockwood, Newpark Drilling Fluids; Erika Waters, BrightSpot; Amy Stine, Aggreko; Nancy Brown, Houston Business Journal; Matt Ross, Ventures Marketing Group; David Solis, Bayside; Emily Rhodes, Whitley Penn; Linda Ruff, Locke Bryan Productions; Lionel Carter, Stone Fort Group; Kristy Bell, Halliburton; Jose Monterrosa, Imagina Communications; Ana Mena, Gelb Consulting Group; Mandi Hunsicker-Sallee, Theatre Under the Stars; Allison Lott; Steve Matthews, Teradata; Susannah Griffin, Catshot Marketing; Elida Jimenez, Southwest Precision Printing; Tara Johnson, Valerus; Peggy Montgomery, Meetings to Incentives, Inc; Amy Dionne, BrightSpot; Andrew Edmonson, Houston Ballet; Jessica Walters, Langrand and Company; Robert Melvin, Bullpen Marketing; Brant Wilson, Customer Value Systems; Cecilia Kenneally, MD Anderson Cancer Center; Rich Witmer, Intergraph; Ken Penny; Jen Uschold, Methodist Hospital System

"The 2013 - 2014 AMA board is made up over 40 accomplished marketing individuals that bring diverse experiences to our organization," said Dominique Shu, 2013 - 2014 President. "This vibrant team, along with hundreds of volunteers and companies across Houston make what we do possible, and I'm excited to see what this year will bring."

The organization's fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30. "Innovative programming and creating an environment for our members to grow and flourish are chief goals for AMA Houston," said Shu. "To help with this endeavor, we will be hosting our second annual MarketingEdge conference this October, bringing the latest trends and leading edge topics from across the country to support the Houston marketing community."

To register or to learn more information on MarketingEdge 2013 or any AMA event, visit:

About AMA
AMA Houston is the area's premier professional marketing organization and among the largest AMA Chapters in North America. AMA Houston provides marketers the ability to remain competitive in today's business environment through networking events, special interest groups and real-world educational programs. AMA Houston was named Chapter of the Year six times in the last nine years by AMA's international headquarters.