Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology

Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology

September 14, 2015 11:00 ET

Announcing the 2015 Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award Nominees

Award Recognizes Dedication and Leadership in Field of Oncology Nursing in Canada

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Sept. 14, 2015) - The Board of Directors of the Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology (CANO/ACIO) is pleased to announce the nominees for the fourth annual Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award.

Nominations were submitted by healthcare professionals, cancer patients, survivors and members of the community-at-large. In total, CANO/ACIO received 11 nominations.

The Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award recognizes the unique contributions of an oncology nurse who consistently demonstrates the highest level of nursing excellence and leadership.

The criteria for the 2015 award place a special emphasis on this year's theme: "People, Purpose, Passion". Nominees will be evaluated on their exemplary service in oncology nursing excellence, oncology leadership and advocacy.

"The passion that each of these nominees brings to work each day is commendable," says Richard Mole, President & CEO of Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd. "We are proud to be recognizing their tremendous efforts; it's their compassion that truly makes the patient experience a positive one."

Award nominees will be assessed by a panel of Canadian oncology nursing professionals, and the recipient will be awarded $5,000 towards further education and professional development.

"Through this award we recognize some of the outstanding achievements of Canadian oncology nurses," says Barbara Fitzgerald, President of the Board of CANO/ACIO. "Oncology nurses offer the highest standards of care and partner with individuals, families and populations who are living with, affected by or at risk for developing cancer. We are enormously proud of these nominees and how deeply engaged they are in caring for their patients."

The 2015 Nurse of the Year Award Nominees (in alphabetical order):

  • Valerie Burke, Port Moody, BC
  • Karen Cooper, Edmonton, AB
  • Tracey DasGupta, Toronto, ON
  • Gladys El-Helou, Montreal, QC
  • Wayne Enders, Edmonton, AB
  • Allison Filewich, Kelowna, BC
  • Jean Morrison-Kennedy, Lanark, NS
  • Christine Piescic, Toronto, ON
  • Juliana Roden, Vancouver, BC
  • Maureen Watt-Smit, Kitchener, ON
  • Karen Woodworth, Halifax, NS

CANO/ACIO will present a webcast of the 2015 award ceremony on October 6th at 9:15 a.m. EDT / 6:15 a.m. PDT. This live event will be held at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Toronto as part of the association's 2015 national conference.

All members of the public are invited to view the ceremony webcast by visiting on that date.


CANO/ACIO is the national organization that supports Canadian nurses to advance oncology nursing practice excellence through practice, education, research and leadership for the benefit of all Canadians. Our vision is that CANO/ACIO is a driving force nationally and an influencing force internationally in advancing excellence in cancer nursing across the cancer control spectrum. For further information on CANO/ACIO, the conference and awards please visit

Contact Information