SOURCE: American Podiatric Medical Association

American Podiatric Medical Association

March 20, 2013 08:50 ET

APMA Announces Board of Trustees for 2013-2014

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - Mar 20, 2013) - The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) today introduces its Board of Trustees for the coming year following elections held at the 93rd Annual House of Delegates at the JW Marriott in Washington, DC.

Matthew G. Garoufalis, DPM, has assumed the office of APMA president, replacing Joseph M. Caporusso, DPM. Dr. Garoufalis practices podiatric medicine in Chicago and will serve as the chief representative of APMA's more than 12,000 podiatrist members across the country.

"The state of health care in our nation is rapidly changing, and it is an honor to take the helm of podiatric medicine, an integral part of a healthy America, at this time. As president of APMA, I welcome my principal charge to ensure that today's podiatrists -- physicians, surgeons, and specialists -- are kept at the forefront of all health-care decisions, legislation, and regulation happening at the national and local levels," said Dr. Garoufalis.

Other elected officers include: Frank A. Spinosa, DPM, as president-elect; Phillip E. Ward, DPM, as vice president; and R. Daniel Davis, DPM, as treasurer. David G. Edwards, DPM; Ira H. Kraus, DPM; and Laura J. Pickard, DPM, were all re-elected to three-year terms on the Board of Trustees. Lawrence A. Santi, DPM, was elected to a two-year term.

President Garoufalis, of Chicago, has been a member of APMA's Board of Trustees for the last 10 years, with much of his time spent on the Clinical Practice Advisory Committee. He currently chairs APMA's Development Committee, which has helped increase sponsorship to record levels at the association, and he is active in the podiatric residency program at the Jesse Brown VA Medical Center in Chicago.

President-Elect Spinosa, of Shelter Island, NY, has continued his service to APMA on several key committees since his first APMA Board of Trustees term in 2003, including the Annual Scientific Meeting and Vision 2015 Committees. He has previously served as president for the New York State Podiatric Medical Association. 

Vice President Ward, of Florence, SC, has served on the APMA Board of Trustees since 2004, while continuing to help expand scope of practice laws in both North and South Carolina. He has served on 11 different committees, including the Legislative and Health Policy Committees.

Treasurer Davis, of Orange, CT, will be returning for a ninth year on APMA's Board of Trustees. Dr. Davis has served as the chair of several committees during his tenure, including Resolutions and Vision 2015 Committees. He has previously served as president of the Connecticut Podiatric Medical Association.

The APMA House of Delegates, which serves as the association's governing body, meets annually to vote on proposed resolutions and proposed changes to APMA Bylaws and Administrative Procedures, and to elect officers and trustees. It consists of APMA member podiatrists representing 53 states and territories.

The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is the nation's leading professional organization for today's podiatrists. Doctors of Podiatric Medicine (DPMs) are qualified by their education, training, and experience to diagnose and treat conditions affecting the foot, ankle, and structures of the leg. APMA has 53 state component locations across the United States and its territories, with a membership of more than 12,000 podiatrists. All practicing APMA members are licensed by the state in which they practice podiatric medicine. For more information, visit

Contact Information