Génome Canada

Génome Canada

August 02, 2005 12:38 ET

Appointment of New Members to the Board of Directors of Genome Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Aug. 2, 2005) - Dr. Cal Stiller, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Genome Canada, is pleased to announce six new Board members, effective August 1, 2005. They are: Ms. Natalie Dakers, Dr. Connie Eaves, Dr. Thomas Hudson, Dr. Kelvin Ogilvie, Dr. Jacques Simard and Dr. Ronald Worton.

"These professionals bring a broad range of experience ranging from genomics research to technology commercialization to the Board of Directors of Genome Canada," commented Dr. Stiller. "Their expertise and leadership in genomics and proteomics will help fulfill Genome Canada's mandate to position Canada as a world leader in this area of scientific research."

These new appointments complete the 16-member Board of Directors of Genome Canada who represent all regions of Canada and all areas of genomics and proteomics research, including the social, ethical, economic, and environmental issues related to this area of research. The complete list of Board members can be found at http://www.genomecanada.ca/GCgenomeCanada/CA/index.asp?l=e

A brief summary outlining the career and accomplishments of each new Board member is attached.

Genome Canada is the primary funding and information resource relating to genomics and proteomics in Canada. Since its creation in 2000 and as of March 31, 2005, it has committed $393 million to support over $840 million in genomics research in Canada. To date, Genome Canada has received $435 million from the federal government. Funds leveraged from partners in the public, private and voluntary sectors, both in Canada and abroad total $447 million.

Contact Information