Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

November 09, 2012 13:20 ET

Appointment to the Canada Revenue Agency Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 9, 2012) - The Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of National Revenue, today announced the appointment of Ms. Margaret Melhorn to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management. Ms. Melhorn was nominated by the Northwest Territories.

"Ms. Melhorn's distinguished career with the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Department of Finance as Deputy Minister of Finance and Secretary to the Financial Management Board, and her extensive governance experience with many GNWT Deputy Minister committees will enrich the work of the current board," said Minister Shea. "Ms. Melhorn's experience and expertise will be a significant addition to the Board, which is an integral part of the CRA's unique governance structure."

While the Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities, the CRA Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The Board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.

The Act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a Board of Management. The Board comprises 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Act requires that each director nominated by a province or a territory must be selected by the Governor in Council from a list of nominees submitted by the minister responsible for revenue administration in the province or the territory, or by another minister that the province or the territory designates.

Contact Information

  • Noel Carisse
    Media Relations
    Canada Revenue Agency

    Clarke Olsen
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue