Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

October 05, 2009 14:30 ET

Appointment to the Canada Science and Technology Museum Board of Trustees

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Oct. 5, 2009) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of E. Virginia I. McLaughlin to the Board of Trustees of the Canada Science and Technology Museum.

"I am pleased that Ms. McLaughlin has accepted to serve on the Board of Trustees," said Minister Moore. "Her financial acumen, wealth of leadership experience, and valuable contribution to the health science sector will be very beneficial to the Board."

Ms. McLaughlin is currently President of Helmhorst Investments Limited, overseeing the performance of the investment portfolio and strategic management decisions. For more than 20 years, she has contributed to and led the boards of numerous organizations. Most notably, she has served as Chair of the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, the Greater Toronto Area Health Care Alliance, and the York Central Hospital. She has also served on the boards of Trinity College and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. Ms. McLaughlin currently sits on the boards of the Ontario Hospital Association and Bloorview Kids Rehab teaching hospital.

In 2005, she received the Arbor Award from the University of Toronto for her outstanding service as a volunteer. Ms. McLaughlin holds a Bachelor of Arts from Trinity College, and has studied economics, math, and English at United World College in Llantwit Major, Wales.

The Canada Science and Technology Museum Corporation is responsible for preserving and protecting Canada's scientific and technological heritage and for promoting and sharing knowledge about that heritage. The Corporation and its three museums-the Canada Agriculture Museum, the Canada Aviation Museum, and the Canada Science and Technology Museum-tell the stories of Canadian ingenuity and achievement in science and technology and demonstrate how these accomplishments have contributed to building our country. For more information about the Corporation, visit

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications