Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

April 27, 2009 14:50 ET

Appointment to the Canada Science and Technology Museum Board of Trustees

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - April 27, 2009) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Harold Bjarnason as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Canada Science and Technology Museum.

"Mr. Bjarnason has a wealth of research experience that will be of great benefit to the board of the museum," said Minister Moore. "With his strong management skills and his continuous support to innovation and scientific improvements, he will surely bring valuable expertise and knowledge to the board."

Prior to his retirement in 2005, Dr. Bjarnason was Dean of the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at the University of Manitoba. He also worked as an Associate Deputy Minister at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and served in several capacities at the Canadian Wheat Board. His career in the corporate, academic, and public sectors has been focused on food and agriculture, including management, policy development, and research. He currently serves as a Director of Ag Growth Income Fund, the Gimli Film Festival, and the Betel Heritage Board. Dr. Bjarnason holds a Ph.D. (Economics) and a Master's Degree of Arts (Economics) from the University of Wisconsin, and a Master's Degree of Science (Economics) from South Dakota State University.

The Canada Science and Technology Museum Corporation is responsible for preserving and protecting Canada's scientific and technological heritage; promoting and sharing knowledge about that heritage; and celebrating Canadian innovations. The Corporation and its three museums - the Canada Agriculture Museum, the Canada Aviation Museum, and the Canada Science and Technology Museum - tell the stories of Canadian ingenuity and achievement in science and technology and demonstrate how these accomplishments have contributed to building our country and inspire our future. The Corporation's website address is

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian
    Heritage and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications