Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

March 10, 2009 11:00 ET

Appointments to the Canada Science and Technology Museum Board of Trustees

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 10, 2009) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Amiee Chan as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Canada Science and Technology Museum.

"Ms. Chan's strong entrepreneurial skills and her passion for innovation make her well qualified for the responsibilities entrusted to her," said Minister Moore.

Ms. Chan has a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering with a specialty in satellite communications, and has more than 15 years of experience in executive management and research development in the Canadian satellite industry. She currently serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of Norsat International Inc, one of Canada's premier satellite companies in British Columbia. In 2008, Ms. Chan gained national recognition for her strong entrepreneurial spirit when she was awarded the Ernst and Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Ms. Chan also has a strong passion for technology and innovation, which is demonstrated by her work as a board member of the Vancouver Enterprise Forum and as a mentor for the Wired Woman Mentorship Program and for the Society for Canadian Women in Science and Technology's Ms. Infinity Program.

Minister Moore is also pleased to announce the reappointment of Margaret E. Smith and Ian McIlreath as members of the Board of Trustees for the Canada Science and Technology Museum for additional four-year terms.

The Canada Science and Technology Museum Corporation is responsible for preserving and protecting Canada's scientific and technological heritage and promoting and sharing knowledge about that heritage. The Corporation and its three museums-the Canada Agriculture Museum, the Canada Aviation Museum, and the Canada Science and Technology Museum-tell the stories of Canadian ingenuity and achievement in science and technology and demonstrate how these accomplishments have contributed to building our country. The Corporation's website address is

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken - Director of Communications