Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

June 27, 2008 17:17 ET

Appointments to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 27, 2008) - The Honourable Josee Verner, Minister of Canadian Heritage, Status of Women and Official Languages and Minister for La Francophonie, today announced the appointment of three new full-time members of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC): Suzanne Lamarre, representing the Quebec region; Steve Simpson, representing British Columbia and Yukon, and Louise Poirier.

"With her in-depth knowledge of regulatory issues in the field of television and broadcasting, Ms. Lamarre is well qualified for the responsibilities entrusted to her. As for Mr. Simpson, his varied experience in broadcasting and information technology will be highly useful to the CRTC, as will Ms. Poirier's extensive experience in communications," said Minister Verner.

Since 2006, Ms. Lamarre has been senior advisor to CBC/Radio-Canada in Montreal in the sector of national and international strategy, planning, and regulation. Her work has involved representing CBC/Radio-Canada within national and international regulatory bodies. She has also held several management positions with Canada's national public broadcaster, including that of Acting Director of Regulatory Affairs for French-language networks. In 2007, she was a member of Canada's delegation to the International Telecommunication Union's World Radiocommunication Conference. Ms. Lamarre holds bachelor's degrees in electrical engineering and law and is a member of the Quebec Bar, the Ordre des ingenieurs du Quebec and the Association of Professional Engineers and GEO Scientists of British Columbia.

Mr. Simpson became Chairperson of Totally Hip Software in 2001; an authorized Apple developer at the forefront of developing authoring tools to bring audio and video multimedia content to the internet. He also worked as the President of Identity Management Inc, a management consulting and public affairs company. Throughout his career, he has held several positions in the broadcasting industry, including various management and on-air radio broadcasting roles. In addition, Mr. Simpson has served on the boards of directors for the Vancouver Playhouse, the Granville Island Trust, the Peace Arch Hospital Foundation, and the Vancouver Port Authority.

Ms. Poirier has served as city councillor for the City of Gatineau since 1999, with many responsibilities, including that of President of the Societe de transport de l'Outaouais. She has worked for 15 years in the area of communications, both in radio and television, and has managed Tele-Quebec's regional office, in addition to being a member of its board. Involved in her community, Ms. Poirier has been President of the Outaouais United Way Campaign, a member of the Red Cross campaign office, and member of various boards of directors, including those of the Centre Hospitalier Regional de l'Outaouais and Cap Sante Outaouais. Ms. Poirier has taken Master's courses in human kinetics at Universite Laval and has a degree in Finance and Marketing from l'Ecole des Hautes etudes commerciales.

The Minister is also pleased to announce the reappointment of M. Leonard M. Katz as Vice-Chair of the CRTC for a four-year term.

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission is an independent public authority that regulates and supervises, in the public interest, all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system, as well as telecommunications service providers and common carriers that fall under federal jurisdiction. For more information about the CRTC, visit

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage,
    Status of Women and Official Languages
    and Minister for La Francophonie
    Dominic Gosselin
    Press Secretary