December 21, 2011 02:13 ET

ASSA ABLOY - Nomination Committee proposes changes of the Board of Directors

STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN--(Marketwire - Dec 21, 2011) - The Nomination Committee will nominate Lars Renström as new chairman, Carl Douglas as vice chairman and Jan Svensson as new member of the Board of Directors of ASSA ABLOY at the Annual General Meeting in April 2012. All other members of the board will be nominated for re-election.

After more than 17 years as member of the Board of Directors of ASSA ABLOY, whereof the last 6 as chairman, Gustaf Douglas has announced that he will leave the board at the Annual General Meeting in April 2012.

"During a 17 year long period as main owner and member of the Board of Directors, whereof the last 6 as chairman, I have had the opportunity to contribute to ASSA ABLOY's fantastic development. I now feel it is time to hand over to Lars Renström. Through Lars ASSA ABLOY gets a very good chairman with relevant industrial experience that together with vice chairman Carl Douglas constitutes the foundation for continued stability and success. With the addition of Jan Svensson, in whom I have a lot of confidence, the Board of Directors strengthens its competencies even more.

I feel the time is right to leave now. During the last 6 years the company has been transformed into a modern industrial group and has showed a very strong development under the leadership of Johan Molin. The company is in good order and ready for continued success", Gustaf Douglas said in a comment.

Appendix: Information from the 2010 annual reports of ASSA ABLOY and Latour regarding Lars Renström, Carl Douglas and Jan Svensson.

ASSA ABLOY discloses the information provided herein pursuant to the Securities Markets Act and/or the Financial Instruments Trading Act. The information was submitted for publication at 8.00 am CET on December 21.

Appendix, information from the 2010 annual reports

Lars Renström

Board member of ASSA ABLOY AB since 2008. Born 1951. Master of Science in Engineering and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Economics. President and CEO of Alfa Laval AB since 2004. President and CEO of Seco Tools AB 2000-2004. President and Head of Division of Atlas Copco Rock Drilling Tools 1997-2000. Prior to that a number of senior posts at ABB and Ericsson. Other appointments: Board member of Alfa Laval AB and TeliaSonera AB.

Carl Douglas

Board member of ASSA ABLOY AB since 2004. Born 1965. Bachelor of Arts. Self-employed. Other appointments: Vice Chairman of Securitas AB. Board member of Investment AB Latour, Niscayah Group AB, Swegon AB and Säkl AB.

Jan Svensson

Board member of Investment AB Latour since 2003. Born 1956. Mechanical engineer and Bachelor of Science (Econ.). President and CEO Investment AB Latour. Other appointments: Chairman of the board of AB fagerhult and Nederman holding AB. Member of the boards of Loomis AB and Oxeon AB.

Press release PDF:

This announcement is distributed by Thomson Reuters on behalf of Thomson Reuters clients. The owner of this announcement warrants that:

(i) the releases contained herein are protected by copyright and other applicable laws; and

(ii) they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of the information contained therein.

Source: ASSA ABLOY via Thomson Reuters ONE


Contact Information

  • Further information can be obtained from:
    Johan Molin
    President and CEO
    Tel: +46 8 506 485 42