SOURCE: Atlantic Records

December 18, 2006 13:31 ET

Atlantic Loves "Daddy's Little Girls"; All-Star Soundtrack to New Tyler Perry Romantic Drama Highlighted by First-Ever Song by The Houston Family -- Whitney Houston, Dionne Warwick & Cissy

Houston; Album Also Features Yolanda Adams, Anthony Hamilton, Beyoncé, Brian McKnight, and Many Others; Album Due in Stores January 16th

Lionsgate to Release "Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls" in Theaters Nationwide on February 14, 2007

NEW YORK, NY -- (MARKET WIRE) -- December 18, 2006 -- Atlantic Records has announced the forthcoming release of "MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE: TYLER PERRY'S DADDY'S LITTLE GIRLS," the original motion picture soundtrack to the forthcoming romantic drama slated to open in theaters nationwide on February 14, 2007. Due in stores and online on January 16th, the album features performances from a variety of R&B and gospel superstars, including Yolanda Adams, Anthony Hamilton, Brian McKnight, R. Kelly, and Beyoncé.

Among the highlights of "MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE: TYLER PERRY'S DADDY'S LITTLE GIRLS" will be "Family First," the first-ever recording by the Houston Family -- Whitney Houston, Dionne Warwick, and Cissy Houston. Also featured on the collection are songs from original Destiny's Child member LeToya Luckett, Tamika Scott (formerly of Xscape), Southern Girl, and the late Gerald Levert (performing a duet with Vanessa Williams).

In addition, "MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE: TYLER PERRY'S DADDY'S LITTLE GIRLS" includes an exclusive remix of Anthony Hamilton's lead track, "Struggle No More," which features contributions from Jaheim and Musiq.

A romantic drama about family, community and love against the odds, "Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls" stars Gabrielle Union ("Running With Scissors," "Bad Boys II," "Deliver Us From Eva") and Idris Elba (HBO's "The Wire," "The Gospel," "Sometimes In April") in writer/director Tyler Perry's follow-up to his number one box office hits, "Diary of a Mad Black Woman" and "Madea's Family Reunion."

A single father, Monty (Elba) is a garage mechanic who lives in a poor neighborhood and struggles to make ends meet as he raises his three young daughters on his own. But when the courts award custody of his daughters to his corrupt, drug-dealing ex-wife, Monty desperately tries to win them back, enlisting the help of Julia (Union), a beautiful -- and hard-nosed -- attorney he meets during his short stint as a chauffeur. While Monty and the Ivy-League-educated Julia couldn't be less alike, an unexpected romance blossoms... and it soon begins to feel like true love. But in order for their relationship to survive, the couple must reconcile their two very different worlds -- and overcome the forces that threaten to tear Monty's family apart.

"Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls" is written and directed by Tyler Perry, and also stars Tasha Smith, Gary Sturgis, Tracee Ellis Ross, and Academy Award®-winner Lou Gossett, Jr. The supporting cast includes Malinda Williams, Terri J. Vaughn, Cassie Davis, Juanita Jennings and LaVan Davis. "Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls" is produced by Tyler Perry and Reuben Cannon ("Diary of a Mad Black Woman," "Madea's Family Reunion").


1.  STRUGGLE NO MORE (THE MAIN EVENT) - Anthony Hamilton, Jaheim & Musiq
2.  DON'T LET GO - R. Kelly
3.  GREATEST GIFT - Tamika Scott of XScape
4.  BROWN EYED BLUES - Adrian Hood
5.  FAMILY FIRST - Whitney Houston, Cissy Houston, Dionne Warwick and
6.  STEP ASIDE - Yolanda Adams
7.  I BELIEVE - Brian McKnight
8.  DADDY - Beyoncé
9.  STRUGGLE NO MORE - Anthony Hamilton
10. BLOOD SWEAT & TEARS - Governor
11. A CHANGE IS GONNA COME - Charles Moore

Contact Information