SOURCE: Atlantic Records

May 22, 2013 14:08 ET

Award Winning and Grammy Nominated Artist Wale Releases 2nd Single and Tracklisting off the Highly Anticipated Album, "The Gifted"

Promotional Tour Scheduled to Hit Major Markets

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwired - May 22, 2013) -  Reaching Gold status after mere weeks on the charts and over 13 million video views, "Bad," the first single off of Wale's June 25th release, "The Gifted," is proving to be merely a preview of the artistry and music mastery to come. This week, he follows up with the second single off the album, "Love/Hate Thing," which promises to be equally as impactful. The soulful instrumentation of this soon to be hit record is reflective of the return to real musicianship fans can expect throughout "The Gifted." As seen throughout his career, the lyrics, deep and insightful offer a look into Wale's experiences in both life and the music industry. "This is the album I've always wanted to make," said Wale of the June 25th release. "The return to real musicianship, real instruments, actually seeing my vision completed is what inspired me to name the album 'The Gifted.' At the same time, I realized that every person carries a gift but most don't ever get the opportunity to find out what that is. So, I'm hoping I can inspire them to search for it."

Motivated by the success of "Bad," Clear Channel has partnered with Wale and is currently running the Wale Scholarship Contest. This endeavor not only focuses on the music, but also gives back to the lives of fans. Wale invites listeners to enter a national contest to win a scholarship. That same winner will win an all-expense paid trip to Wale's New York album release show, where they will be presented with a check on stage. In addition, Clear Channel is playing the song every hour, on the hour, across their networks. Specific markets and contest details can be found at: In addition, the iTunes preorder is also available for consumers and can be found at: "The Gifted" will also be available nationwide, through an exclusive partnership with a major retail chain to be announced at a later date. 

The DC native and MMG artist has always placed fans first, and this time is no different. Set to perform three album release shows the week the album drops. In addition, Wale will also embark on a national promotional tour, touching down in major markets. Dates and locations will be provided. For additional information, visit

The following is the tracklisting for "The Gifted." Additional features and production credits will be made available:

1. The Curse of the Gifted 
2. Love Hate Thing feat. Sam Drew
3. Sunshine
4. Heaven in the Afternoon
5. Golden Salvation (Jesus Piece)
6. Vanity
7. Gullible
8. Bricks
9. Clappers
10. Bad (Remix)
11. Tired of Dreaming
12. Rotation
13. Simple Man
14. 88
15. Black Heroes
16. Bad feat. Tiara Thomas


Contact Information