SOURCE: The Bank of Maine

The Bank of Maine

June 13, 2013 08:37 ET

The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation Awards 29 College Scholarships to Graduating High School Seniors

The Bank of Maine Scholars Program Recognizes Maine's Student Leaders

PORTLAND, ME--(Marketwired - Jun 13, 2013) - The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation recently awarded 29 high school seniors a total of $29,000 in scholarships under The Bank of Maine Scholars college scholarship program. This program provides $1,000 to selected high school seniors to be used toward the cost of attending college.

Since 1985, The Bank of Maine Scholarship Foundation has awarded more than $342,000 in scholarships to 403 of Maine's graduating high school seniors. 

"We're committed to strengthening our communities by investing in student leaders who give back to the community through volunteerism and other service," said John W. Everets, Chairman of The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation. "With the rising costs of college, we know these funds are needed and will help these students realize their goal of pursuing a college degree. We are proud to play a role in encouraging the academic success of the students who live in our Maine communities."

The scholarship awards recognize students who have provided community service through their volunteer efforts, and who have been successful academically, displayed outstanding character and have a financial need. The scholarship competition is open to high school seniors in all of the communities which the bank serves. Winners, their hometowns and high schools are:

Erin Whitney: Augusta, Cony High School
Scott Pilsbury: Augusta, Erskine Academy
Marcia Heath: Bath, Morse High School
Shaylee Sibley: Boothbay, Boothbay Regional Area High School
Brandon McCauley: Brunswick, Brunswick High School
Caela Fenderson: Calais, Calais High School
Ronald Lund: Caribou, Caribou High School
Angela Mallis: Falmouth, Falmouth High School
Jeremy Voisine: Fort Kent, Fort Kent Community High School
Mariah Damon: Gardiner, Gardiner Area High School
Hannah Morgan: Gardiner, Gardiner Area High School
Natasha Brown: Hallowell, Hall-Dale High School
Marina Cameron: Houlton, Houlton High School
Kimberlee Keithley: Kennebunk, Kennebunk High School
Taylor Gardner: Lincoln, Mattanawcook Academy
Taylor Mosley: Machias, Machias Memorial High School
Kelsey Broad: Manchester/Readfield, Maranacook High School
Michaela King: Mars Hill, Central Aroostook Jr./Sr. High School
Robert Millett: Newcastle, Lincoln Academy
Amanda Stagge: Oakland, Messalonskee High School
Sara Schriefer: Portland, Portland High School
Emily Transue: Presque Isle, Presque Isle High School
Aaron Miller: Richmond, Richmond High School
Stephanie Paré: Saco, Thornton Academy
Julia E. MacDonald: Topsham, Mt. Ararat High School
Kiersten Morissette: Waterville, Waterville High School
Heidi Lachance: Winthrop, Winthrop High School
MacKenzie Chancellor: Wiscasset, Wiscasset High School
Danielle Simpson: York, York High School

The Bank of Maine and The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation recognize the hard work it takes to achieve a high school diploma and wish each Maine graduate success in his or her future endeavors.

About The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation and The Bank of Maine
The Bank of Maine Scholars college scholarship program was established by The Bank of Maine Charitable Foundation in 1985 to benefit Maine high school students who are pursuing higher education. The Bank of Maine was founded in 1834. It is a 178 year old FDIC-insured, federally chartered savings bank with more than $790 million in assets. The bank offers a broad range of personal and business financial services through its 33 branches and 42 ATM sites located from York to Fort Kent. In addition to serving the needs of its customers, the bank and its charitable foundation have returned over $25 million to Maine communities through contributions and grants. To learn more, visit or join us on Facebook and Twitter.

Contact Information