The Barley Council of Canada

The Barley Council of Canada

February 12, 2015 12:38 ET

Barley Council of Canada Announces Newly Appointed Directors

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwired - Feb. 12, 2015) - The Barley Council of Canada (BCC) is pleased to announce it has approved the appointment of five new directors at its annual general meeting today in Calgary, AB.

The BCC is made-up of a diverse cross section of the barley industry, including representation from malting, brewing, feed manufacturers, feed users, grain handlers/exporters, researchers and seed/life sciences companies.

Dr. Aaron Beattie of the University of Saskatchewan Crop Development Centre was appointed as the representative for the research sector.

"I am pleased to represent Canadian barley breeders at the national level," said Dr. Beattie. "It's crucial that research contribute a voice to this table in order to remain abreast of the barley industry's needs."

Also appointed from industry are Bob Sutton from the Malting Industry Association of Canada, Rod Merryweather from FP Genetics and My-Lien Bosch the Animal Nutrition Association of Canada.

"One of our main focuses is to foster value chain collaboration and leverage existing industry association resources to provide a unified voice for all barley value chain participants," said BCC Chair Brian Otto.

In addition to these appointments, Don Dewar from Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association and Zenneth Faye from Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission were also officially appointed at today's meeting.

"Developing a crop like barley is a unique opportunity and a challenge that requires passion and dedication," said Dewar. "Being a part of discussions with the entire barley value chain will allow us to better take advantage of all opportunities for barley."

This leadership model will help to strengthen barley's position in Canadian crops and improve the competitiveness of all value chain participants.

"We seek to create efficiencies and prevent duplication of research, services and programs," said Cargill Canada Vice President of Corporate Affairs and BCC Vice-Chair Chantelle Donahue. "In order to achieve this, we need the entire value chain at the table-I am confident we have achieved that with today's appointments."

Many current and future opportunities exist for Canada's barley industry, from increasing exports to expanding the domestic malt, feed and food markets.

Barley Council of Canada Board of Directors:

Brian Otto, Western Barley Growers Association-BCC Chair
Chantelle Donahue, Cargill Canada-BCC Vice-Chair
Zenneth Faye, Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission-BCC Secretary
Luke Harford, Beer Canada-BCC Treasurer
Jason Lenz, Alberta Barley-Alberta Barley Representative
Dr. Aaron Beattie, University of Saskatchewan, Crop Development Centre
Garnet Berge, B.C. Grain Producers
Neil Campbell, Atlantic Grains Council
Don Dewar, Manitoba Wheat and Barley Association
Herb Groenenboom, National Cattle Feeders' Association
Rod Merryweather, FP Genetics
Bob Sutton, Malting Industry Association of Canada
My-Lien Bosch, Animal Nutrition Association of Canada
William Van Tassel, Fédération des Producteurs de Cultures Commerciales du Québec

Contact Information